Customer reviews for DR DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start

DR DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start

The top of the line! With splitting power equivalent to a 34-Ton hydraulic splitter, and a blazing cycle time of just 3 seconds, this is the fastest log splitter available anywhere!
Overall rating:
4.453 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
47 out of 51(92%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
Review 1 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke after 2 months,

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
joeypizza
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It dont split everything under it thats just not true if it dont the rack starts jumping i split 9 cords of wood now my machine is broke. the bottom carrage bolt that stops roller is bent up easy fix they set machine up wrong, now my pion gear or rack is chipped or worse i was happy in first, service is good rack chatters all the way down called it in got great service from al and fred but still not good i dink i want my $$$$$$$ back 6 month trial well im gonna take them up on it , and by the way how come video dont show knotty wood thts cause it dont spilt knotty woods too well!!!!!
Pros:fast subaru motor great
Cons:rack and pion broke, carrage adjusting screw bent
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportSeptember 16, 2013
We’re sorry that you are experiencing a problem with your RapidFire Splitter. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about it.

It looks like you have contacted our Tech Support Dept. about this.

We hope that this instance hasn’t turned you away from considering us in the future. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted bywids
 
Please wait while more information about wids is loaded.
Additional information about wids could not be loaded.
onNovember 6, 2013
Same thing happened to me last year when I bought a refurbished unit, took some time going through the machine to find it was a bent bolt that holds a roller on the engagement lever. DR was great, sent me a new rack and pinion, along with an entire new lever assembly. I was really put off at first with a new expensive paper weight, but with multiple emails, videos, and a few weeks, we got it figured out and it's splitting like advertised. DR really bent over backwards for me, and I appreciate it. Now I wish they could make a conversion kit to make mine road towable like this new model. It won't split everything, but for the 5% it won't split I have a vertical splitter (also for the stuff too big to lift onto the splitter). I can easily do a cord an hour by myself with this splitter.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byjoeypizza
 
Please wait while more information about joeypizza is loaded.
Additional information about joeypizza could not be loaded.
onSeptember 21, 2013
I keep having issues with this machine, thank GOD your service and techs are on the ball otherwise i would be really unhappy so far the lower carriage bolt bent the roller bolt bent the lower linkage pin bent the h -block with bushings bent all because they didnt have the machine adjusted correctly two weeks and im still not up and running im waiting on the h- block im hoping my rack and pinion are ok after all this machine was hammering all the way down for too months we will see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 2 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is as good as it gets for wood splitting.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Wildcat
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The DR Rapid Fire will split wood as fast as you can load it. With all hydraulic splitters you have to wait for the machine to recycle. The DR just doesn't have that downtime. That's what makes it incredibly fast and reliable.
Pros:speed simplicity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of power easy to use

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike47
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateOhio
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The rapid fire pro XL has power to split any piece of wood I feed it. Very fast works as advertised in videos. Sits a little low for taller person. I'm 6'2" and stoop a bit to run it. Would be nice if were road towable and better way towing around property with lawn tractor. Overall made splitting easy and fast.
Pros:plenty of power, very fast, easy to use
Cons:sits a little low, towing issues
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Electric-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality product

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
jimbo1693
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateConnecticut
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is nice to still have the ability to purchase a quality product in this country.
I am very impressed with the craftsmanship and well planned design
Pros:saves a lot of time!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so much faster for a one man operater to get job done vs hydraulics.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
ivysct
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the only drawback that I can see in this splitter vs a hydraulic splitter is when you are splitting large pieces of wood that are cut at a tree crotch vs a straight piece of wood.In this scenario,you just cannot replicate the power of a hydraulic splitter by creating energy via speed delivered from flywheels.All things considered,I am very pleased with my purchase as I do all the firewood preperation by myself and it is a tremendous time saver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitter performs as the video demonstrates!!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Customer avatar
lammi66
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built splitter that is fast!! .I picked up splitter at yellow freight terminal, brought it home and uncrated it. Some lite assembly work, filled it with Amsoil 30 weight, non ethanol gas and it fired right up!! Put some gnarly splits of Osage, White Oak, and Elm through it and ate it like candy!! Love this thing!!
Cons:needs a ball tongue for moving.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hang onto your hydraulic!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
djarcon2
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateOhio
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compared to hydraulic log splitters I've used, the DR 6 hp Pro XL is blazing fast...but I won't be selling my Toro hydraulic anytime soon. Where the Toro will power through ANY log no matter how thick or dense, there is a limit to what the DR can do, and I have to turn to the Toro.
The DR gets jammed on really dense wood, and at times, I've had to free the stuck log with a sledge. Also, on occasion when splitting a tough log, the operating handle will snap back into place with such force that I'm a little concerned with breaking my hand.
I've been careful to choose logs I know the DR can handle, and when it's humming along, and when 3 of us are working (an operator, a log handler, and a stacker) we can stack one piece per second. Like I said, BLAZING FAST!
All in all, I'm pleased with the performance and build quality and not at all sorry I bought the DR.
Pros:very fast
Cons:can't handle everything, sometimes snappy handle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have only used a little but so far it works great.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
bigbird
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMinnesota
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used the splitter sparingly so far but I am totally satisfied at this point.
Pros:quality
Cons:a little expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Darn near perfect

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
MPRM
Age45 to 54
GenderFemale
StateOutside of the U.S.
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have found this splitter to be as good as advertised. It stretched my budget but it was well worth spending the extra money on, rather than getting a traditional hydraulic splitter. Big time saver, and actually even fun to use. So far I have split about 2 full cords and only one piece wouldn't split -- a big knotty piece of fresh pine that just kept jamming on the blade or getting forced up. I'm not discouraged, I bet it will split just fine once I leave it to dry a while. And I know that a traditional splitter wouldn't have stood a chance with it. I was also very happy with the people on the phone when I was ordering. Really friendly and helpful, which you don't get at many places these days. Thanks everyone!
I guess a review should look at both sides, but the only negative I can even mention is that the actuation lever was loose when I received the unit. Not a big deal, I just got a wrench and tightened the nut back on. Someone might argue that it shouldn't have gotten through QC like that, but who knows, maybe it got rattled loose in shipping. Anyway it's good as new now and been working great for months now.
Pros:very satisfying to see the wood split this easily, fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wood splitter

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Anchorman
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateSouth Dakota
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wood splitter exceeded all my expectation in power and ease in splitting wood. It starts on the first pull is quieter than my brother in laws 32 ton hydraulic and easily splits twice as much wood, (even with an "old man" feeding it wood). I bought the table too and really like the built in ergonomics like the tapering in toward the engine and the two bars welded on both sides of the ram which helps center the wood for splitting. The height is good for minimizing back fatigue also.
There is one area for improvement; the pipe that serves as a front stand is difficult to put the pin into for one person while also trying to hold up the toung weight of the splitter. A stand that folds down into place and then putting in the pin would be better on a person's back.
Pros:power, quality, speed
Cons:front stand hard to pin in place
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRGREN
onSeptember 14, 2013
I have the same minor problem with the pin on the stand on my DR Wood Chipper. A folding support leg would make life easier. But, overall, I am very satified with the chipper; and am looking to get a Rapid-Dire Splitter next. Rob G.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Splitter is fast but could have some better quality features

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike85
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateConnecticut
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had time to split about two cord of wood so far I can say that it is certainly about 3-4 times faster than my last hydrolic splitter. The only problem is that the unit comes with these extreamly small and cheap looking tires. For a tool that is exposed to harsh elements often and for the price you pay for it I would have thought it would have come with a good sized offroad tire. The tires on this splitter are about equivalent to a household wheelbarrow tire. The two other misses are the lack of a ball hitch and the flywheel cover is just a cheap piece of sheet meatal. On the other hand the unit is super fast at splitting wood.
Pros:speed, table
Cons:cheep tires, cheap flywheel guard, cost
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJuly 9, 2013
Thanks for posting a review, we appreciate it! We're glad it's working well for you.

We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superior in speed compared to hydraulic models.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Dean73
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One feature that would be helpful would be a lever to release a "stuck" round to release it from the wedge. Sometimes it is difficult to pry a large round off, particularly on the first split. I have used a pry bar to do this. A lever activated from below could accomplish this relatively easily.
Pros:speed
Cons:as mentioned above
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuts my time down on spliting so I can spend more time enjoying the outdoors

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
thomas04
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can do the job at hand quicker than two of my friends and I can and enjoy more time in the great outdoors. I was sceptical about the speed of the splitting time and return of the ram, but was very satisfied with the performance and quality of my machine. I am looking at other quality tools from DR.
Pros:speed, quality of tool
Cons:spring on return
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
ljd52
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateSouth Carolina
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy enough to require a second person to help to finish the assembly. Easy to do. My neighbor is/was very proud of his 36 ton hydraulic splitter. He may be your next customer. Filled the unit with oil, gas, pulled once, it came to life. Excellent machine. Knotty sweet gum, no problem. Oak, Hickory no problem. I'm impressed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good log splitter

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
mikhealcm
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateMaryland
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall I am happy with this log splitter. It is fast and I have had no problem with power. Not being able to tow it on the road is a bit of a pain. Also I have split 12 cord and already replaced the belt and the handle broke. Small problems and I will admit that I am ruff on equipment.
Pros:power, speed
Cons:could be beefed up a bit
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This splitter is easy to use

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Mudpupster
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This splitter is easy to use and less problems than a hydraulic splitter. The cycle time is very quick
Pros:fast
Cons:parts break easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tireless work horse

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
schmoke220
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateAlaska
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This splitter is hands down my best investment. With the help of my family feeding me logs I can split faster then they can supply wood. I dont have the strain on my back like I did with my old slow hydrolic splitter. Besides a few simple maintenance steps this splitter is non stop WORK! I love it.
Pros:very fast
Cons:i would love a bigger feed tray.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Manual-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Innovative and quality

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
EdS1940
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateKansas
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photo(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the Rapid Fire splitter about 3 months ago. I was impressed first with the workmanship and quality the splitter. We put it to work right away. The production was truely amaising! It has split every thing I have on my property, oak, hedge, walnut, stringy elm, and many more. The stringy elm required an addition one or two cycles to get through the piece. I had the same problem with a 15 ton hydraulic splitter that was slow compared to the Dr Equipment Rapid Fire splitter. About a week after putting the splitter into service one of the trailer tires failed, I was promptly sent a new one no charge for the tire or shipping. What service! I do believe the tow hitch could could be improved somewhat. I would put the Dr Equipment Rapid Fire splitter at the top of the class in both hydraulic and stored energy splitters like the Dr Equipment Rapid Fire splitter. I would definitely recommend this splitter.
Pros:production, workmanship, service
Cons:hitch could need some redesign
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Electric-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to it's name Rapid.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
boilerrat
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateKansas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With this log splitter I spend half the time in the timber that I used to. I would recommend it to anyone who does wood splitting.
Pros:easy to use.
Cons:work table could stand to be a bit bigger
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DR RapidFire Log Splitter, Pro-XL Electric Start
This review is from6 HP Subaru Electric-Start RapidFire Log Splitter W/Table.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT'S SO EASY TO USE

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
camoman34
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical when I took it off the skid, and with 6 months free trail, I kept all the packing because I thought it may be going back. So I put it to the test right out of the box. I went out and cut 6 dead red elms, some up to 20" across,cut them to size and got the splitter. It took me about 1/2 the time compared to my old splitter, and with 2 people it would cut that in half. I took it back to the shed, and burned the packing, because it's found a home here. I've only had it about 6 months, but it's the best splitter I've ever use.
Pros:very simple to operate
Cons:it has to be very close to level to operate
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>