Customer reviews for DR DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind

DR DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind

The top of the line! Features a world class Subaru engine (with a 5 year commercial or residential warranty), 306 gallon capacity, an onboard chipper, and significant reduction of collected materials.
Overall rating:
4.552 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 28(93%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Review 1 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not very happy with the 13.74 FPT PRO-XL w/Chipper

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
BG59
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanically the engine, vacuum/chipper & trailer do work ok.
I bought mine almost one year ago and due to health and other reasons I was unable to use it until recently.
I found that the top of the container is very flimsy and when using the vacuum in the yard, the pressure build up inside the container has and will lift the centers of all four sides of the top and allow dust and grass to escape. After only a couple of uses the plastic top appears to be permanently warped and bowed up in the centers. In one or more areas you can see the gap under it.
My second complaint is the dump gate. The screws and gate are a PITA to undo & replace every time you need to dump the container. This could have been so much better with the simple addition of some hinges and quick fasteners.
Thirdly, the machine is top heavy when loaded and can easily tip over if you are not careful. It could use lowering and a wider track to help with this issue.
Seriously after reading all the hype on DR products I truly expected a better made unit. I am thoroughly disappointed in the quality of the container, what is that stuff anyways, plasticized cardboard?
The mechanical & metal parts of the machine however, appear to be well made and up to the task.
I have the skills and means to strengthen and modify parts and pieces of the machine I find to be weak or undesirable. Not everyone can do that and I feel sorry for those who cannot.
Pros:metal parts are well made and serviceable., engine starts and runs well., it does vacuum the yard very well.
Cons:plastic container & top leave a lot to be desired., dump gate is a pain to work with., container sides are of questionable durability.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportSeptember 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review to our website. We are sorry to learn you are not fully satisfied with the purchase of your Pro-XL model Lawn & Leaf Vac. We appreciate you expecting high quality products from us!

We will try to contact you concerning the issue you are having, but feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall I am very satisfied. Lawns look great after mowing. Can't wait for the leaves to fall.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Yardnut
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once I got the unit assembled it has behaved beautifully. The main issue for me was fabricating the universal deck adapter. I found the directions a bit too simplistic and confusing. I also had to modify my mower deck to get the adapter to fit. I have a fairly popular mower with plenty of power. I know that there are several makes on the market, but it would be a good service if DR had some jigs for some of these and could cut them at the factory.
Pros:does the work very well.
Cons:deck adapter is difficult to fit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised.

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Jerry13
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateKentucky
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only used it once since assembling 2 days ago. Works great and can't wait to use it again. Thought it important to mention the size of the box it comes in, however. In rough measurements 79" long, 49" wide and 41" high and weighs about 500 pounds. If you have a truck with a cover in it...re-think it.
Pros:electric start
Cons:to be determined...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I should have bought one sooner.

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Erik121
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a few acres with maple, oak, and poplar. For years I struggled with hand held and back pack blowers. Always having to wait for the wind to be blowing the right direction. Also the leaves needed to be dry. I purchased this last fall. The first time we used it everyone was amazed with the vacuum power. I bought the extended hose to use around the mulch beds. It works great also. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to save a lot of work and time.
Pros:very powerful, easy to manuver, makes great compost
Cons:rather large to store
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Assembly of product does take close attention to detail. Great features though.

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Roger327
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have apx. 6 acres of property to mow and rake leaves. This has been a back saver. Operation is very easy. There were adjustments that had to be made as we got used to using the Machine. We own a 22 HP Kubota with a 56" mower deck. The results were amazing. The video advertising was SPOT ON. The only draw back was long twigs and small branches that would turn in the vac hose and cause the leaves to build up a clog. Features built in to the equipment allowed easy disassembly of the vac hose to clear clogs. The storage bin holds more than meets the eye. Our property is wooded with many trees. The chopped leaves are used as mulch around trees to keep weeds down, and give the property a park-like setting.
We recomend this product to all our friends and neighbors. Our neighbors see the results and are quite impressed. Must have product.
Pros:ease of use, starts quickly, runs smoothly, quality product, great finish, easy to clean
Cons:deck chute not consumer friendly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great motor...works great... Takes time to put together when shipped

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Scuba
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateArkansas
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All works as it is suppose to . Suction will only hold so much so it take longer than I expected to do big piles of leaves .
Pros:great motor
Cons:lacks as much suction as i would like
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product, easy to operate.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Rocket64
Age45 to 54
GenderFemale
StateIdaho
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this because my husband has lost the use of his hands and could no longer lift the common bagger attachments down to empty them. Your product is a god send for him, as it now lets him feel he is doing part of the upkeep of our lawn. He was always such a stickler for a well kept lawns, but in the last few years, not so much. Thank you for providing such an awesome attachment for our John Deere. Our lawns should be back in shape in no time.
Pros:don't have to lift to empty., hold alot of lawn clippings.
Cons:suction hose runs right by motor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro-XL Lawn Vacuum

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
DeanC
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMaine
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 1500 feet of oak tree lined drive and this leaf vacuum worked great. I towed it behind my tractor and used the hose extension to suck up the leaves and then dump next to the garden for compost.
The only problem was the rocks were also sucked up, which resulted in holes being punched into a part that was replaced by DR. Excellent product and excellent support.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRyanC
onOctober 27, 2013
I bought the DR 13.74XL two years ago. I figured I would use it for a while before writing a review on this product. In short, this is without a doubt the best thing that I have bought. I use it with my John Deere 110L, and it performs flawlessly. I do change the oil on twice a year as I do with all of my equipment. Other than that, maintenance is almost non-existent except for cleaning after use.
I have close to an acre of land, mostly grass, but on the outskirts of my property are forest areas with lots of trees. When cutting grass, it picks it up very nicely and prevents me from having to empty a bagger every loop around my property. I can cut half of my lawn before having to empty it. I only need to empty twice per cutting, which cuts down on the time of me having to stop, load the grass into my truck. (I have no where to dump lawn clippings on my property, so I load them into my truck and take to the community compost pile). I have 4 average size garbage cans that I place inside the DR and then just empty them when it gets filled.
When the leaves start to fall from the Oak trees surrounding my property, they get so deep that when driving over them with the mower, they are pushed up onto the top of the mower deck, but the ones that make it under the deck get sucked very well. What used to take me 2-3 hours to blow leaves now takes me around an hour.
Overall construction is very well. I have not had any issues of bowing like the previous poster did, and have had no issues with the knobs that close the gate on the back. I have also not had any issues with the hoses cracking or getting holes in them. Keep in mind, I don't drive over large branches, etc. that would put holes in the hoses. The engine starts quickly every time, and is very strong.
The chipper shredder also works well.
Overall, I give this machine a 10+ on quality, value, and ease of use.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well on dry grass and leaves, poorly on wet and tall grass and pine straw

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Lawnboy
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateLouisiana
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The collector box on the mower deck stops up frequently on most any wet, tall or heavy grass, leaves, or pine straw and has to be disconnected and cleaned out by hand.
Slows the mowning down quite a lot.
Works better than anything else I've found so I'll keep using it.
Engine is great. I would love to see it on other products.
A full hopper is a load and can only be unloaded by hand with much effort. I strongly recomend purchasing the discharge kit and vacuum kit. Add $500 to your expeced cost.. Pay'em now or pay'em later.
Pros:great engine, overall good design
Cons:mower deck collector, hard to unload
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

2 flaws

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
premierelawn
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall it works like it should. I use it alot in the fall for leaf removal. The only two problems I have are the hose gets holes to easily and the plastic chute gets cracks and seperations where debris can fly out and cause damage or injury to anyone or anything near by. I would like to see a chute made out of the same grade of metal that the shredder housing is made of.
Pros:holds alot of debris, has a chipper and electric start, easy to use
Cons:non metal chute, hose gets holes to easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportMay 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate hearing from our machine owners about their experiences.

We actually went from a metal Chute to plastic back in 2005. I will pass on your concerns to Product Development.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works great

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
ChuckG
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateAlabama
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pro xl works great. Assembly went well. I had a little trouble fitting the universal boot on the mower deck , but it wasn't that bad. The vacume works well,wet or even damp grass after a heavy dew will tend to clog.the dryer the grass the better. I use it mainly for grass clippings. We have about 25 ac we mow and in south Alabama in July-August the grass grows really fast and can get ahead of us.i must admit that the engineers probably didn't design it for the heavy use I put it through .( I probably need a full size vacume truck!) but after getting accustom to it and what it can do , it works well. I have about 15 hrs on it and wish I had gotten the hour meter option. The Subaru engine runs fine . Got the electric start and was happy to see they retained the pull cord , just in case. The only thing I can think of that could use a little refining is a viewing window port to more easily tell when the hopper is full, and a a faster way to open the rear gate. For me I see the bolts wearing out or lost when the retainers wear out . None of wich are major deal. This is the second DR prouduct we have in the family. My dad bought a wood chipper about six years ago and it still working great. To sum it all up for the price,quality, zero percent financing and free shipping, I'm well pleased . Chuck G. Irvington , Alabama
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Gunner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performer for five years. Use it for one acre covered with leaves from 100+ year old oak trees. It's been problem free and requires minimal maintenance. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another one--but fully expect this one to last many more years.
Pros:capacity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product needs some revisions

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Redroe
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit has good suction qualities but seal on top of unit is mickey mouse. Dust and spill over is a problem. If U live in Vermont where large leaves on a spotless lawn it would probably be fine In the South where grass can be spares and oak leaves are numerous, it is a problem. Feed back to Dr Power resulted in no follow up
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJune 5, 2013
Thanks for posting a review about the Leaf & Lawn Vac, we appreciate it!

You can adjust the amount of Hose that is going into the Collector Box. 4-6 "ribs" inside is optimal. Check this to see if you have any improvement. We will pass along your info to Product Development for review.

+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this products is great work with

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
ralph14
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is great in vaccuum up leaves as we live in the middle of the woods.
our lawn gets about a inch of leaves every Fall, and we would spend a least a week and half raking up leaves. but with this vaccuum we are done in a few days. It makes our job and our life so much easier. it also munch's the leave up
so it takes up less space.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is very well built piece of equipment

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
casper
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateGeorgia
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is great piece of equipment. I changed the pin attachment to a 2 inch trailer attachment.
Cons:attachment to mower
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall a fantastic product!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Stacy
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One should understand some of the limitations and nuances of using this type of lawn vacuum. Thorough research can ease some of the tension. Visit with users/owners prior to purchase.
Pros:redesigned blower, plenty power
Cons:can be too high center of gravity & tip on a slope, doesn't handle green/wet grass very well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, used now for 5 years with no problem.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Chet13
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
This equipment proved to be exactly as it was described in your literature. I would highly recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product sure saves lost of time racking keep lawn clean and neat.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
goat
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateSouth Carolina
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only problem I have had is the hose that feeds into the hopper split but the old duck tape came to the aid.
Pros:great machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a powerful, well-built product

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
brown71
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIowa
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feel that DR offers the best leaf vacuum on the market. They are constantly improving their features. They are durable & relilable. This is the second DR leaf vacuum that I have purchased. I am impressed with the powerful Suburu engine on this model. There is a lifetime warranty on the "mulcher" part of the machine.
Cons:my older dr machine had a larger capacity.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 13.74 FPT Electric Start Pro-XL-Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
GARY11
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateVermont
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The system works well. The subaru engine is top quality.
Pros:love that you can use and return if not pleased
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>