Customer reviews for DR DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind

DR DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind

More capacity plus an onboard chipper! Holds up to 306 gallons & dumps effortlessly. Use for fall leaf collection and as a high-volume bagger for your riding mower.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
23 out of 26(88%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Review 1 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent machine, does what it should

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
pf99
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMaine
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
can handle a large volume of leaves.
If leaves are damp or wet, suggest you run over with mower at least twice before using to chop and stir up as otherwise it doesn't pick up very well
You have to be careful when using it on ANY slope, especially if 1/3 or more full of leaves-it can tip.
Cons:wet leaves not handled well, tippy on slope
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

product not as easy to use

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
mtjackie
Age25 to 34
GenderFemale
StateMontana
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If your lawn is square you might do ok. This product limits your ability to mow circular or curved areas. I usually have to mow perimeter areas, around trees and gardens first before hooking up to the leaf & lawn vacuum. If you turn too tight in either direction you rub the mower tire on the frame or burn the hose on the vacuum motor. I'd rather use my mower bags.
Pros:handles large volume
Cons:cumbersome
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy JamieTechJune 29, 2013
We’re sorry that the Leaf and Lawn Vacuum hasn’t lived up to your expectations. We appreciate you leaving a review though!

For tips on how to resolve the issues you have encountered and other questions or concerns you have, please feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for posting comments to our website. Your comments will be passed along to our Product Development department for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good so far...

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Fizzbiscuit
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Assembly of the machine is straight forward. The engine seems to be powerful enough to perform it's function well. The details could be improved upon. i.e. How about lever type clamps instead of thumbscrews on the hoses. And quick release fasteners on the bin door instead of knob-screws. While you're at it, the bin door could be hinged at the top to swing up and out of the way, instead of removing the entire panel to unload. The tongue could be lengthened 6 inches or so to facilitate hitching up, and allow for slightly tighter turns.
Pros:a good solid well built machine.
Cons:details could be made mor convenient
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, great customer service

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
drdan
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateOregon
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first DR product I have owned and I am more that satisfied with the machine but more than that, the customer service is beyond satisfactory. It's amazing; the people I get to talk to are right here in the USA and are knowledgeable about their product and helpful to assist in sorting out any issues that come up and provide parts and information without question. Service and respect like this is rare indeed in the world we live in and I am fortunate to know and do business with the folks at DR
Dan in Oregon
Pros:quality, service, respect
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the extra money.

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
2ponyranch
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateVirginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this model to replace an AgriFab unit I had at the time. My hopes were that the DR would be as dust free as promised and the extra capacity was needed. Sadly it is as dusty if not more so than my AgriFab unit which only cost $1000.
The top / separator is flimsy so that when the vac is running it arcs upward on each side allowing lots of dust and fine mulched material to escape.Enough so that a dust mask is needed. The owners manual states that loose mounting bolts for the top will cause this but the bolts are not loose.
I've used this unit for 1 1/2 seasons and the rubber motor coupler broke today. Of couse the parts have to be ordered so it will be down at least a week and I have a couple of acres of leaves to get up. This unit is barely 2 years old my 8 Yr old Agri Fab vac is still working nicely for the person I sold it to. The only thing that has performed as promised on this DR. vac is the extra capacity of the cart and easy tilting of the cart for dumping. Not worth it at more than twice the price of the Agri Fab unit.
Pros:extra capacity
Cons:not nearly as dust free as promised, drive system prone to coupler failure
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy Customer ServiceNovember 20, 2012
I'm sorry you aren't happy with the results from your DR Lawn Vac. In regards to the 'fail safe' coupler breaking, we send a spare with every Leaf Vacuum that we sell. If you did not recieve a spare with your purchase, please call us. Also there are a few things that you can do to limit dust from the top housing. Please call our Technical Support team. They can help you with the dust issue. Thank you for leaving feedback.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

better than raking

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Tom024
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNew Jersey
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this is way better than raking it does clog often at mower discharge the support for the discharge hose is non-exsisintent dump release handle spring is not strong enough (use a bungee cord to hold it in lock position) dumping is not very easy difficult to remove rear door when full Tip: Keep a garden culltivator in backwards in the collector box to pull out leaves
Cons:removing rear hatch when emptying too many cloggs
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportMay 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about the Lawn & Leaf Vac. We appreciate customers letting us know about the products we make. Your information will be passed to Product Development for future consideration.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Engine died 3 hrs after purchase.

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Soup
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateConnecticut
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought unit brand new, dealer started unit at store. I transported home, started unit and used for one leaf collection cycle. Unit would not start again after that. Changed spark plug and fuel. No change. Called dealer to come and pick up.
Pros:vacuum worked well when it ran.
Cons:hard right turns burn the hose on the muffler., hinge and latch on the rear door would be nice., rear door is bulky and knobs are a pain., engine problem.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy Customer ServiceNovember 15, 2012
I'm sorry you had a bad experience with our Leaf Vacuum. I would encourage you to call our Tech Support team at 1-800-550-0062 to discuss the issue and tell us what the resolution was with the dealer you purchased it from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does a Great Job

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
LLLNY
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had mine for 3 years and it's going strong. I have 10 acreas but only mow 2-3. I generally use it for leaves. I have a lot of mature oaks, maples and hickorys to clean up after in the Fall. The vac does a great job, I usually fill it up 6 to 8 times.
It will get clogged at the hose right after the intake, especially with wet grass. I found that if I mow the grass before most of the leaves fall then it won't clog as easy because there isn't as much grass.
The engine always starts right up. The chipper doesn't do a great job especially when the blades aren't freshly sharpened.
When full, it takes a little work to get everything out, it doesn't slide right out by it's self.
Pros:strong engine, holds a lot of leaves
Cons:grass can clog the hose, engine is loud
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bybill
onNovember 7, 2013
I have a pro model bought 5-6 yrs. ago, I had to replace the engine last year and I find that the trac vac which I previously had was much simpler to handle and a lot less problems . I have had to replace the chopper blade (it is life time guaranteed) and apparently missed the fact that the housing was damaged by the broken blade. I just ordered and received a new 1/2 of the housing (for over 100.00) which was shipped to me in 4 days (good service) I have had many sets of the 6 inch hose because it gets in the way of the tire sometimes and is just a pain. (Trac Vac's hose had a guide on it and I may have replaced it once in 20 years). The vac does hold a lot but if filled you have to manhandle it to get everything out. There are two many fasteners also.In addition it is too high and hits tree branches Trac vac is definitely better. I did buy my son a cyclone rake vac which he has been happy with at less than 1/2 the price of the county home vac.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would recommend to anyone as a lawn vacuum

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
djandpj
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateOklahoma
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to put together, easy to start, easy to use. we mow and vacuum under our pecan trees just before harvest. Now it is as we are picking up pecans of of the carpet. We wondered if this was the right product for us and we are well pleased with every thing that this lawn vacuum does.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes my lawn look so much better.

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
bushido
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIowa
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall this is an improvment over the previous model.
Pros:capacity, mulching ratio
Cons:top sinks over time & contents blow out
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fall Time Saver

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
RichIN
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unit was well packaged and assembly was straight forward and fast. I don't have a grass catcher for my JD and needed to use the Lawn Deck Adapter. It took a little tweaking to get the opening right, but in the end it worked fine. I couldn't get to my leaves until they had all dropped, leaving them piled high in some areas, which caused the inlet tube to occasionally clog. Despite that, I was able to do in 6 hours what took 2 full weekends in the past. (I have 3 acres of woods that surround an acre of grass.)
The DR Pro towes easily behind my 300 series JD. It does a good job of shredding leaves, but does not mulch them, a minor disapointment, but better than other brands that only vacuum the leaves. The rubber coupling failed after about 5 hours; I expeceted it would last longer. Fortunately, a spare is provided and I purchased a back up. I recommend always having a spare on hand.
The biggest disappointment is the inlet hose lanyard, at best, a poor after thought in the design. It does a poor job keeping the hose elevated and free to move when making turns. I created a bracket out of scrap lumber, attached it to the frame between the engine and impeller assembly, put a bungee cord on the top and it worked perfectly.
The Hand Vacuum Hose is highly recommended if you have a lot of gardens. Leaf blowers wedge the leaves in the bushes or blow them around the yard, and then you still have to pick them up. The vacuum hose made short work in the fall and minimized the spring clean up.
Storage can be a problem, but my wife now thinks I should build and outbuilding for my toys. How bad can that be?
Pros:ease of use, vacuum hose
Cons:inlet hose lanyard
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picks up like a whiz

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Robert7
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateGeorgia
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picks up pines cones and leaves like a whiz. Great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use; quality workmanship; pride in ownership.

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Jim5042
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our home is situated on 20 acres; thank goodness I only have to deal with one partially cleared acre. I was using several means to keep up with the leaves [raking, push blower, leaf blower] and never staying ahead. No sooner did I get the leaves up when a wind would come along and recover the ground. This unit was a gift from my Mother-in-law and a life-saver. I hooked it up to the lawn tractor and was able to easily clear the leaves and stay on top of the task all Fall/Winter. I would recommend this unit for anyone who wants and needs to save time; not to mention ending up with a better looking yard. Got some curious stares from people who drove by. Good advertising for future buyers.
Pros:easy to assemble
Cons:getting boot to adapt to an older model john deere
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great suction.

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Rich
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We tow it behind our zero turning mower. The chute attaches easily and has great suction. We really like the long hose attachment for sucking leaves out of the fence line. We modified the hitch for a 2 inch trailer ball since the pin arrangement got bent. Added bungees to carry the long hose and pickup tube along with us so we can easily swap from mowing to vacuuming. You have to be careful not to plug up the chute attachment or the hose. We just need to slow down abit. The motor starts right up usually with one pull. It would be good to have a sight window in the hopper to see when its getting near full so one can plan their stops and emptys better.
Pros:very reliable
Cons:hard to tell when its almost full
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use, empties easily

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Ernie60
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor hose design, hoses become worn during everyday use making hose repairs a normal job.
Pros:easy to use, empties easily
Cons:hose design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is of good quality and works great!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
jdeng14
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to rake 2 acres of leaves. My DR lawn vac makes the task a snap.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Depends on use

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
BobH456
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have not had success using this product, so honestly can not give a productive review. Though it was easy to assemble and your customer service is very good, this product needs a flat terrain and someone more mechanically inclined than me.
Pros:great potential if you have flat land
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJune 14, 2013
We're sorry that it hasn't worked well for you. we do appreciate you posting a review and we appreciate the response posted by Army1968 also. If you haven't already, please contact Tech Support at 800-687-6575 and we will be glad to help you out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byArmy 1968
onMay 30, 2012
I have had my DR Lawn Vac for 6 years. I put it to the test regularly. It has been a fantastic piece of machinery. From a service stand point, I had to replace the engine last fall. Dr. Shipped one immediately and also included a new impeller. The impeller housing was perforated from use. A retrofit housing with an inner liner and a spare inner liner as well as an additional impeller were provided free of charge. I have been pulling the Vac with a Snapper LT18330 Hydrostatic Lawn tractor with great results. A downside is the plastic housing that attaches to the mower deck cracks very easily. I have given up replacing them and reinforce it with sheet metal and duct or gorilla tape. It is not pretty but it does the job. If you have a pristine lawn you will not encounter this issue.. It makes fall clean up a joy. The 10 to 1 reduction allows for a fast cleanup and you will have plenty of compost to use in the future. I recommend this for the do it yourself homeowner. You will have great results and a neat clean yard.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real time saver. I can get all my leaves picked up in two weekends.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
honestjohn
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first purchased this leaf vac my youngest son asked why I would spend the money to buy a leaf vac and such a large one too. I said that with him going off to college I didn't think he would come home to help rake so I got some help with this leaf vac. I mow and rake about an acre and I can get all my leaves up in two weekends, plus chip sticks that are in the yard. A real time saver.
Pros:large capacity
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine. Could be better.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Marine47
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateKentucky
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Engine on this machine starts first time; now in third season. But I don't like the flimsy choke lever. I've already snapped off two. Vac handles leaves but sometimes clogs at hose attachments. Grass clogs it up even more. I have to get down off my tractor and free the clog way too often. The worst problem is at the point where the adapter necks down to fit the hose. ( I'm also mowing with a 60" deck, so I throw a lot of leaves and grass into my machine. )
Tight left hand turn on my tractor sometimes causes the attachment to pull off my mower deck. It is tricky to get that hose length just right to make those right and left hand turns. But I finally got it right and have learned to avoid that problem most of the time.
Chipper does OK. Handles what it's designed to handle. Wood chips fine and makes good mulch. I'm in third season and notice some dulling in the blade, I think. Doesn't chip as well as when new. But still OK.
Overall, a good machine. I have 6 acres; 4.5 in heavy woods; 1.5 in lawn and landscaping. My machine gets a workout all year round with leaves in the fall, fast growing grass in the spring; and year round limbs and debris to chop up.
I like the maintenance free construction. Frame is heavy enough and plastic body is durable. Under load, there is some bulging in the body and debris blows out at the seams. Can be a little dusty in the summer.
I'd buy another one. It's probably the best vac out there. And the chipper is a nice addition.
Pros:great briggs engine and well constructed., chipper is nice addition and well positioned., box capacity is very good; both leaves and grass.
Cons:flimsy plastic choke lever., clogs at hose adapter too often.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Leaf & Lawn Vacuum 9.00 FPT Manual Start Pro - Tow Behind
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

had early problems

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
charlie
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My unit had a bad blower fan, corrected in warranty. Works best with direct hitch and caster wheels. With tow behind, hose droop is a problem.
Pros:good pickup
Cons:safety interlock troublesome
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>