Customer reviews for DR DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL

DR DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL

30" Cutting Width - This machine will chop down just about anything you can throw at it. 3" thick saplings, 6-foot high grass and 8-foot high weeds don't stand a chance against this fully-featured brush mower. Go anywhere with 4 forward speeds, (1 reverse) and lockable differential.
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
99 out of 100(99%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Review 21 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

18.5 HP Pro-XL DR Field & Brush Mower is a great machine

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Chores
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased a new 18.5 HP Pro-XL DR Field & Brush Mower Elec Start, 30in Deck to mow thick grass and brush in areas I could not reach with my tractor and bush hog. Due to the extensive rainfall we have received this year, I could not access a large part of my property with my tractor.
The 18.5 HP Pro-XL DR Field and Brush Mower has exceeded my expectations: It is easy to start, it has plenty of power when mowing thick grass, the 4 speed transmission allows the user to select the proper speed for the job, the machine is easy to manuver through the woods.
I am glad I purchased the DR machine instead of some of the others I have seen.
Pros:plenty of power, easy to manuver
Cons:i would like a wider cutting deck
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

monster

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
dustin31
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this machine will do all that the advertising says and more. i was somewhat of a skeptic when i purchased the product, thinking that they must be at least stretching the truth of its capabilities. this is however not at all the case. i have cut approximately 4 acres of heavy weeds, briars, wild rose bushes, sumac, and sapling hardwoods that were taking over the pasture portion of my land. i didnt want to tak a tractor through this for fear of ruining tires or anything else of that nature. the dr plows though all of this without a hitch. it is a beast of a machine that must be controlled with brute force at times but has no problems taking it all down. now this place is not a few weeds hear and there it has clusters of saplings that stand several feet over my head and are at least 2-3 inches in diameter. it has many tangles of thorns and vines etc. well i guess i should say it had all of those things because it doesnt anymore. i also took it down into the creek bottom and cleared many other small trees and briars . it is truly a monster
Pros:will chew anything you put in front of it
Cons:you do have to stop and reapply belt from time to
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a monster

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Marek
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I definitely recommend the DR F&B mower (particularly the 18.5 hp Kawasaki). Once you get used to the gears and different speeds, the machine does the work. I was hesitant to take over 7' bushes with 2.5" diameter branches, but it took it like a champ. If you do manage to get it stuck after an unexpected drop off, the locking diff made it easy to get climb back uphill. Overall, if you have rough areas, trails in woods, etc., the DR is all you need.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product lives up to expectations.

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
JDH72
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateGeorgia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've only used it for two weeks, but the DR Mower has totally lived up to my expectations. The 18.5 hp Kawasaki engine starts easily and has excellent power for the job. Waist-high thick grass is no problem at all. Privet hedge 8 feet tall is more of a challenge, but the machine will handle it. The main limitation with tall vegetation is the operator will get tangled in the falling debris, but the machine will go through it.
The safety features are excellent. When it doubt, just let go of the machine, and everything will automatically shut off. However, the safety regimen is not so strict as to be impractical or cumbersome.
The deck attaches easily, and it is of very heavy duty construction. The blade is very stout. I accidentally tangled it in some woven fence wire, but it was easy to disentangle.
I hadn't planned on spending $3400, but the good financing terms made it more palatable. Even though I spent more than I had planned, I am very happy with my purchase after actually working with the machine. I would buy it again.
Pros:powerful engine, solid construction, excellent safety features, simplicity of operation, good credit terms
Cons:muffler in a vulnerable location
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There were no exaggerations in the claims. if anything its better than advertised!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Lucrob
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This beast can climb like a bulldozer. It cuts small trees 2.5" as fast as a chainsaw with the standard blade. I'm not sure I would have jumped in if it weren't for the return policy, but after 5 hours of operation now, I've found a permanent spot for it in the work shop. It's like operating a motorcycle though, you have to develop you operation skills. Pull the clutch to change gears.This is more of an issue on hilly sloops. When traversing steep - 15 degree - slopes, you'll be pleased at the low center of gravity. It shows very little interests in tipping. Under the right condtions you only need one hand.
Pros:unstoppable, bbalance, well developed design.
Cons:shifting is not as smooth as you car.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has all the features that i need for my property

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
ken0913
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good piece of equipment and very practical for my property
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding unit

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
USAF6989
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a machine ! I've got 220 acres in northern Maine and really overgrown, but, cleared around outbuildings and a long access road about 3acres in all . Did it in no time with little effort only walking behind it . This monster eats what you put in front of it. I'm well satisfied with it .
Pros:time left to do other tasks
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Ranch
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have an older model and the deck is heavier gauge steel. Nice product. Just need to increase the deck thickness to the original specs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Eddie17
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
actually, the first use of this product was for me, by my neighbor. He is a 28 yr old man and i needed a hillside cleared, not just any hillside you must understand. The area to be cleared is approx 150 yds by 50yds and a sheer drop off, overgrown at least 5 years. His exclamation after 3 hours of use, entire project took 2 1/2 days, was " Oh my god...this thing is Billy Bad A..! " true story....
Pros:great safety features
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good powerful machine

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Justb460
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good performance. People are impressed watching it work. Only structural design I might change is a full bead weld at the rear of the debris exit chute rather than the three tack welds. Had to dust off my welder but it's fixed now.
Pros:lots of power
Cons:see above
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you find something this thing can't mow over, give me a call because mine will !!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Bisson
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateConnecticut
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work for someone who owns this machine and is now selling his business and will pass this on to me because I liked using it so much. I have mowed saplings as big as 3" with this and had no issues. I have hit stone walls going through the woods and was able to navigate my way over it with no damage to the mower.
Pros:mows anything
Cons:needs better angle on bars for comfort
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does everything I want and MORE!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Western Washington state. Here we deal with Himalayan black berry bushes, which, if left unchecked, can grow to more than 10 feet tall and be so thick a machete is insufficient. I have five acres and dealt with these bushes for years, then purchased a DR Field and Brush mower. WOW, it just walks through these bushes. Within a few hours I cleared about 1.5 acres of them. In the middle were Alder tree saplings, about 2 inches in diameter. Took them out too. What I liked best is the DR just leaves behind mulch. I have been mowing this area now for the last 3 years and the black berries are almost completely gone. MY DR is 5 years old now and I use it a lot. Even hiring it out to help my neighbors and friends. After all this time the only thing that I have had to do is change the oil and sharpen the 30 inch blade. Thanks for QUALITY product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed.

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Bear1
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateAlabama
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the PRO XL to "mini hog" tight spots on my 12 acres and to maintain my 2 acre cabin property. I only mow my cabin property two times per year. The mini hog tackles six foot grass and saplings easily. The property is sloped and I have never had any power or traction problems. The locable hub is handly there. On my 12 acres I have about two acres of tight areas and it gets in the trees easily. The back of the property is too wet for the tractor but my Mini Hog glides pretty good and hasn't gotten stuck. In short this product is very very good. I also bought the mower deck I like it and it does what I need but it has short comings. Read my review. on it.
Pros:powerful, tough, easy to manuever
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes, it does do all that......

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
ozarkbob
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have owned the 17HP Kawasaki model for 6 years on a 40 acre rocky, hilly piece of land in the ozarks......This bad boy will take down 2 to 3 inch hickory saplings and keep trucking. Weeds and underbrush have no chance. The only real limit is YOU, not the machine. Following this dude thru and over hilly, uneven ground is a challenge, but thats the beauty of it, it goes where a tractor or full size brush hog can't. Beautiful. My complaints are really only additions, put a backup rope pull on the engine, a cupholder on the handlebars ......... and put hand guards on the handle bar levers. For the oldtimers here its like enduro motorcycles used to have, they keep your hands from getting blasted, cut and bruised by the brush you are bulldozing through. Build quality is great, have had zero issues in 6 years of use. Rock an roll !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives you a workout, but well worth it

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
TreeFarm100
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a small, hilly 7 acre tree farm in Washington state, with lots, to much, brush. We were doing the clearing by hand using a Stihl brush cutter/weedwacker, and decided to rent a walk behind brush cutter. Lucky for us, the rental shop had DR's. It was love at first whack. Our productivity went way up with the DR. Our biggest issue is with Huckleberry and ScotchBroom. If the DR can push it over, it will cut it, but most of our Huck is over six feet high and too strong for the DR. We use the Stihl to cut it down, and then finish with the DR. Lock in the axle, and this thing will climb a tree. After the first rental weekend, we purchased a 17hp DR walk behind. My only complaint, is they need to make a little surry to stand on. Walking behind this on uneven hilly ground, will give you a real workout, and you'll know you have done something at the end of the day. DR should also make a powerwagon attachment to add the this unit, instead of making you buy it seperately. All in all, DR makes good equipment, we put on about 30 hours a year on ours, and have only needed to replace the drive pully, $15. Now concidering a tow behind model to maintain what we have already cleared. Thanks DR
Pros:good power, good quality, easy starting, cuts well, reliable
Cons:no surry platform available, no power wagon attachment
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am a true believer!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Tarheel
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought a used l5 hp DR walk behind mower and just last week I put it to use on steep, overgrown terrain covered with Locust saplings and tall grass in North Carolina. Having never used a DR product before I did not know what to expect..........but whatever I could have expected the machine exceeded everything. It was just fantastic to be able to point the machine and go. It never bogged down......it cut everything in it's path.....it is truly the right machine for the task and I could not be happier with it. It was so well balanced it made dealing with the slopes easy to deal with even though I'm only 5' 4" and 70 years old.. The field I cut had been a problem for years, too steep for a tractor brush hog, too tough for a weed eater...the DR mower was incredible. I felt that when I pointed it toward a clump of tall Locust saplings it not only said: "ok let's go" I swear it said: "Hold on!" I cannot recommend the product enough. I have never sent a testimonial for a tool before this one and couldn't wait to do so because I enjoy the machine so much.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my second DR. Great product

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
stevee94e
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine has taken everything that I have thrown at it. Sumac up to 3", manzanita, sagebrush, chaparral. I had the 10.5 hp Briggs and Stratton for a lot of years and was impressed with that machine. The 18.5 HP Kawasaki machine blows me away with the power.
The only compaint I have is the muffler spark arrester set up for the Kawasaki engine gets hung up on brush and gets knocked off. Poor design. Sticks out too far.
Pros:cuts everything i need to cut.
Cons:muffler/spark arrester set up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough, terrific machine.

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Paul0302
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used for several years. No maintenance problems. Used primarily on tall thick grass, some small sapplings. A little difficult to handle in small areas because of it's size. Transmission speed options fit all situations I have encountered and add to proficiency.
Handling difficulty increases on sloped areas, hard to keep traction with upper wheel when mowing with the slope. Plenty of power to climb slopes. Lower transmission settings good for mowing downhill.
This size of this machine requires good physical stamia, won't need to got to gym after a few hours of use.
Pros:easy starting, plenty of power, low maintneance, great job
Cons:lack pf traction on slopes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bydave9970
onNovember 22, 2012
I have had the 18 hp bush machine for about 6 years, no problems. It does lack traction many times and you have to fight it to keep it going, a duel wheel option might do the trick. Would love to see more attachments, such as a leaf vac, that I really need! But over all, a good machine. The Kawasaki engine is the sweetest running machine ever!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 39 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real workhorse that gets the job done!

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Ketstang
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower is unbelievable, it mows down everything in its path. I cleared 3 acres of overgrowth with no problem, even though my neighbors said it wouldn't handle it. I love my DR products (I have two) and wouyldn't consider any other brand if you want quality and performance.
Pros:high qulaity, well built, easy starting
Cons:it has tons of power and will give you a workout
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
6.25 Sprint Electric Start Trimmer/Mower
4.4 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for DR Field and Brush Mower 30" 18.5 HP Electric Start Pro-XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I call this machine my "Kudzu Killer"

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
pagid3
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateSouth Carolina
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I been fighting kudzu for over twenty-five years. I have ruin several lawn mowers in in the process. Although, my DR brush mower a can't actually kill the plant it can cut the vines contain the plant from spreading throughout the pasture.
Pros:it is powerful like a tractor with a brushhog.
Cons:the free wheeling wheels can make it difficult to, get out of a rut if one wheel is free to turn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>