Customer reviews for DR DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro

DR DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro

Step up to this model for the ability to take down tough grass up to 6-feet high, plus 2-1/2" thick saplings. Go anywhere with 4 forward speeds (1 reverse) and lockable differential. 26" cut.
Overall rating:
4.804 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 44(100%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Review 1 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality construction

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Karla56
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateMinnesota
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although heavy, takes care of trimming our wooded area very well.
Pros:good quality
Cons:heavy for a woman to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible machine!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Herc
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateWest Virginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This DR brush mower lives up to its description and more. On an abandoned farm I easily mowed through 6-8 foot weeds and brush, and ran through autumn olive trees that were up to 2.5 inches thick with no issues (I did have the heavy duty brush blade attached). I operated for hours at a time with relative ease and no equipment problems.
In the lower drainage areas (muddy with no standing water), I was able to use the traction control which resulted in not getting stuck and without tearing up the ground. This allowed me to operate in areas I had previously not expected.
The machine arrived packaged securely and was up and running in very little time. Overall, I am very impressed and recommend this machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heck of a workhorse!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
BJ0907
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateMichigan
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my 17 hp DR in fall of 2004, also purchased the snowblower attachment. The only serious maintenance it has needed was due to mice eating all the wiring over the winter! Love this machine, want to buy the lawn mower deck as my rough and hilly property has routinely killed off every lawn & garden tractor I have purchased, including a 20hp Cub Cadet. About 10 acres, most of it heavily overgrown so it gets a workout! and snow in Michigan gives the snowblower plenty to work with in the winter. A great performer.
Pros:cuts through almost anything, durable and very low maintenance
Cons:heavy to manuever in tight spots, offsetting the handlebars would save my hands
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 16.5 HP DR brush cutter does everything promised.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
macmac92
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMaryland
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This brush cutter does everything I needed. I have put it to a number of uses. It has effectively cut thick underbrush on my small farm that has been uncut for years. I have also used it to clear and maintain trails through my woods. It has performed without issue. As I expected, from reading reviews before my purchase, the cutter can require a good amount of physical effort to control, particularly when operating in tight spaces that requires manuevering that is not a straight line. The average person can handle it, but it can be tiring. All said, I am very pleased with the machine; it has allowed me to complete jobs in hours, that had previously taken me days to do.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
rgplpc
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on ownership of a similar 17hp x 30" machine I purchased 5 years ago, you can't beat this mower. Rugged, well-built - it will cut through anything up to 2.5" with ease. After several hundred hours of use it has only required regular maintenance (oil changes and sharpening) and a replacement fuel pump, which was inexpensive and simple to do. Other than that it starts easily every time, runs strong, and is eager to go to work. This machine appears to be a life long investment, but should it ever fail I would buy another in a heartbeat.
Pros:excellent machine
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product goes through all kinds of brush and small trees.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Obejohn
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have very uneven terrian on my thirteen acres and the DR Field and Brush Mower has no problem with any terrian. The machine does the work, not me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a monster machine!

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Kenny101
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have problems with honeysuckle overgrowth. If this machine can run over it, it will cut it. Some of our plants are 4" at the base and it makes short work of it! Large woody vines and ground debris are no match and this thing can cut a path through areas you couldn't even walk in. One man cutting can entertain several men dragging brush out of the way. It doesn't devour the brush the way a lawn mower would. It just cuts it off down low and moves on and over it.
We work on hills and valleys and this machine is a work horse. I get tired before it does and it will run all day, 10 hours, on one tank of fuel.
Only problem so far is that it has so much torque that if you snag a tire on a tree or stump, you had better have a good grip. It's tougher than most people and won't stop until you let go.
Pros:sheer overwhelming power!
Cons:tires out the operator
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very powerful machine, great brush cutter, don't like the snow blower head.

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
SteveInWestfield
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the brush mower, it plows through most anything I can run it through. I also purchased the snow thrower head for it. That I am not happy with. It is VERY front heavy and difficult to maneuver. The engine is also hard to start in very cold weather (single digits and below zero). The brush mower is GREAT, the snow blower, not so much (would not purchase the blower again).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Machine saved me - You really have to use one to see how tough it is!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike007
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 2.5 acres of out-of-control Cogan grass, woody Caesar Weed, Ficus, potato vine and kudzu etc. The Cogan grass is eye level in places (I'm 6' tall) and so dense that it's tough to walk through. My old Gravely walk-behind, tough as it is, was over-matched. The constant backing up to unclog the blade or unwrapping the plant material from the blade spindle was wearing both of us out. I got 10% of cut that way before the thing really started overheating and burning oil. Would let it cool, add oil then whack away for another hour. But, I knew i was losing ground because the foliage was returning faster than i could manage it. I got busy this past year and it quickly got out of control.
Then, I received a code enforcement letter threatening $500 daily fines if the lot wasn't mowed within 30 days. We actually discussed calling the mortgage-holder and surrendering the property. I was ready to give up.
Then, I decided to buy the 16.5 HP DR Brush Mower, despite doubts that it would be able to handle the job. After all, my trusty Gravely was being killed off by this property!
I have never submitted a product review in my 52 years but my new DR motivated me to do just that. Talk about the right tool for the job! Whatever you point the thing at, it will pull itself and you right through it. The Briggs motor is quiet and clearly has plenty of power to spare. I debated getting the larger 2 cyl model, but realize now what ridiculous over-kill that would have been.
I can easily cut more in an hour with the DR than I could in 4 or 5 with the Gravely. Plus, no clogging and no unwrapping the blade! You can't know what a chore that was - in fact - the DR design with discharge chute and blade shroud were the actual clinchers for my buying decision. They really do work as described.
My only concern is for the exposed wiring which could be damaged when going through dense foliage and bushes. But the build quality and materials are first rate. I would enthusiastically recommend this product to a friend or family member. We couldn't keep our property without it. It has actually turned our despair into joy. Thank you for producing such a great machine and for your complete lack of hype and overselling. The DR cutter has exceeded my hopes and expectations.
Pros:power, smooth operation, doesn't clog, quiet
Cons:exposed wiring
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1 Thing ticks me off !

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
CraigW
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the most part, I love my mower. Great power and versatility. But why oh wy could you not have built some offest between the left edge of the mower deck and the position of the handle bars? Would sure help when mowing next to something like a fence.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product did everything they said it would do!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Sparrow838
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateTennessee
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Does everything DR said it would do and more! Only drawback is difficulty finding someone to service it when it needs it. Fortunately, it doesn't need servicing often!
Cons:hard to find service
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great features

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Demerteco
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateUtah
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It cuts 1.5 to 1 3/4 inch trees very proficiently and the motor has sufficient power to do the work . The four speed gear transmission works well for this model.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product can do all that it is advertised to do!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
logrunner
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love our brush mower! It cuts right through saplings and underbrush with ease. It was a great purchase!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horsepower is awesome!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Carlos
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Again, I have to highlight the great, dependable horsepower on this product. Cutting through high field grass, tough tall weeds and small diameter bushes and trees are a breeze with this product.
Cons:difficult to start
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, very durable.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Leee
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateIowa
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A couple of things I would change, higher ply tires, put the wiring from the handles to the motor in a pipe for protection, and a better shifting mechanism. Overall a great machine!
Pros:works as advertised.
Cons:tires only 2 play
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product cut thru our wooded lot with ease.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Ron60
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased our 17 HP Kawasaki Commercial DR Field and Brush Mower when we decided that we wanted to build a house on the once clear pasture that had over time become a wooded lot with hundreds of saplings up to 2" in diameter. We could barely fight our way through and wondered what we could do until we watched the video of the DR Mower in action. Since the price seemed reasonable for what we needed it to do we purchased and were amazed at the results. We simply walked behind the DR Mower as it ate its' way through every obstacle, and in about 4 hours we had made several open areas where 6' trees and saplings had stood. We've used the mower several times now and never had a problem. It starts right up and performs wonderfully every time. We would recommend this mower to anyone that has a difficult yard to tackle.
Pros:easy start, low maintenance, good price
Cons:tight fit to load in a van
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I only have one regret. This model wasn't equipped with brakes! I have a very, very steep back yard.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
LCLarry
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateSouth Dakota
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great power going up hill but with its weight it can drag me downhill. Therefore I lock the transaxel and go sideways. Would be even better if it had a clutch mechanism to disengage the locking differential for the turns.
Pros:power and ability to chew through anything.
Cons:differential lock on hills with no brakes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The virtual cadillac of brush mowers

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
gryphon53
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is another excellent machine. Just keeps going and going just like it's grandpa the Model E. I have 40 acres with a lake and pond, this includes picnic areas and blackberry patches. This machine never lets me down. This is the perfect machine for the fella that can't justify a tractor and brushhog but still has to get the job done.
Pros:reliability, durability
Cons:won't make a cup of coffee
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not you average product - this machine will make you laugh !

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
hemlock53
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SO I have owned my Brush and Field mower -16.5 ,elect start..... actually the biggest one you had at that time, and all I can say is it's a beast . I have often thought I should take a video of myself using it and send it to you. I have broken a few things - the blade, the pulley wheel ( now I know why you send an extra one ) and broke a couple of welds but I am surprised that is all I have broke. I run over 1" to 2" pine trees with ease - If I need to cut soething like a hardwood that size and the DR is not heavy enough to lay it over and instead tries to climb up it, ( you know what i mean :-) ) I let it climb and then lift the handles to try and lay the tree over, usually the blade will catch and chop the tree down one loud violent wack at a time. I lmao. My friends have borrowed it ( brought it back with broken welds) and always laugh as the tell me about using it. I do wish though that it had come with an extra blade ( the beefy one ) and some attachments to say hold a chain saw, water bottle and maybe loppers or something similar, But all in all worth every penny of the price.....thank you
Pros:belt pulley system is easy to use
Cons:no place to carry other tools like loppers
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Field and Brush Mower 26" 16.5 HP Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

16.5 pro brush cutter

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
MAVERICK
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMaine
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS MACHINE DOES VERY WELL IN THE FIELD HANDLING THICK BRANCHERS, HANDLES WELL AND EASY TO USE, ENGINE RUNS WELL AND CHEAP ON FUEL.
Pros:strong, powerful, handles well
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>