Customer reviews for DR DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro

DR DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro

Handles limbs up to 4-1/2" thick with ease. Big hopper for easy feeding. Pin hitch is standard. Accepts optional road-towing kit for easy transport on road or highway. Some images shown with optional accessories.
Overall rating:
4.73 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 35(97%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Review 1 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Nicky260
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateIndiana
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had purchased another brand of chipper. The first time I used that machine it would shake my hands so much that my gloves would get hot from the friction build up when feeding larger branches. When the machine had problems starting after taking a break, I had enough and returned it to the place of purchase. (Lucky for me)
I ordered the DR chipper the same day that I returned the chipper.
I cannot say enough good things about the DR chipper. It tore through any branches I put into it. The mulch is useable and attractive. I barely had to trim branches for them to self-feed into chipper. The branch tips/leaves would either self feed int or be pushed into the cutting wheel by the next branch that was fed into chipper.
Pros:powerful engine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
don568
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 16.50 Pro Rapid Feed chipper worked very good. I really like the big hopper, just throw in a branch and it will gravity auto feed. I was also impressed with the feed rate, faster than I expected. A 4.5" branch can be chipped, but I stuck to about 3.5" max which is no problem. A couple things I am going to change are bigger tires and a ball hitch. I need to tow it through muddy spots so need more ground clearance and a ball hitch is much easier to connect.
Pros:gravity feed, fast chipping, heavy duty construction, large hopper
Cons:small tires, pin hitch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality equipment

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve42
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this chipper. I can run limbs up to 4 inches with no problems at all. It makes beautiful chips. We cleaned up an apple, a mulberry and a maple tree in no time at all.
Pros:starts easy
Cons:only straight limbs will feed correctly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic piece of equipment!

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Bpearson69
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIndiana
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this chipper new in April of 2013. It was very expensive but after looking at the chippers in the stores such as Lowes and Menards, this one seemed much more durable. After receiving it, I didn't use it for over a month due to a health issue but once I recovered, I added oil and gas, hooked up the battery, turned the key on and it started immediately. My wife and I have used it several times since then and have been extremely impressed with the size of limbs and trees it will take. It truly will take a 4.5" tree just as they advertised. We have reduced several stacks of trees and limbs to nice mulch for our flowers and walkways. I am now convinced that the $3000 was well worth the money. We received free shipping so we saved even more than the discounted price that we bought the chipper at. When I mentioned to a professional tree trimmer that I bought a chipper, he said "you didn't buy one from Lowes did you?" He was impressed that I bought a DR and wanted to see it. You will not be disappointed, we weren't!
Pros:everything about it is first class & very durable
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, You Wont Be Disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Pepin
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMinnesota
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent machine, chews through brush and everything you can feed through it. I ran it for almost 12 straight hrs on 1st use to clear a number of huge brushpiles consisting of elm, oak, and walnut. Dry black walnut is hard but the DR chomped through well. Only negatives I can think of are (1) the base the engine sits on - a bit thicker gauge might improve (reduce vibration), and (2) the belt cover - some quick removal screws/features would be nice so you dont have to remove all the screws to grease the main shift or get to the belt (make it easier and faster to remove for maintenance). This is a well built machine, a bit spendy, but worth the money -- I think it will hold up well and for a long time. Dont waste your money on a lesser machine.
Pros:build quality, extended chute (very nice)
Cons:belt cover serviceability (make it easier), gas thirsty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Jwo1
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateWest Virginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a powerful little machine. We chose this size because larger diameter pieces are firewood. It has been very useful.
There is a little bit of a learning curve, because it likes the branches straight, and so a little more cutting is required than you might anticipate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease fo Use

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
ChuckyT
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMontana
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this chipper long enough to require the first oil change. The initial set up was easy and requires only rudimentary tool skills. The wood I have to chip is mostly pine with a little cedar mixed in. If the limb fits in the feed chute hole, it is a chipped limb. The very biggest ones might bog it down just a bit, but if you are careful with the way you feed it, there are no worries what so ever. I definitely would recommend this product to anyone, of any ability.
Pros:ease of use, very easy to start usually one pull
Cons:slightly dificult to inspect/remove chipper blade
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
SilentJoe
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only put about 10.5 hrs on this chipper but so far so good. It works as advertised and has suited my needs. Although, when I went to do the 8-10 hour maintenance on it, I found that both of the grease fittings on the flywheel shaft bearings had vibrated out. I called DR and they were aware of the problem. They sent me out two new fittings right away. They blade is still very sharp at this point.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
GaryE
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNew Hampshire
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only complaint is location of the starter pull, which is underneath the hopper causing one to have to kneel to start the unit. Also the starter pull itself is very heavy. If there is an electric start option, buy it!
Pros:self feed
Cons:starter pull
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like this chipper a lot

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
jeff111
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateConnecticut
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good power, reliable,starts up fine….…nice machine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine. Well made, very pleased with the performance.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Chopchop
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this chipper to clean up several years of tree limbs which have piled up over the past 5 years. A week after I got it, I had two Bradford pear trees come down during a bad storm. It took the better part of a weekend to clean up my trees and my neighbor's tree. The chipper ran almost continuously. I did not expect to use it so much so soon after getting it. It generated about 30 big cart loads of chips- which I then used to mulch every plant and tree in my yard and several loads in my neighbor's yard. I have named my chipper the She Beast, cause it is a 'man eater'. Wow! what a machine. Started the first pull and has ever since. I have yet to get to the older limbs which I had originally wanted it for but it won't be long till I do. Yeah! more mulch. I'm so thankful I got the larger 4 1/2" capacity machine.
Pros:hopper opening well done, well balanced
Cons:change motor start pull orientation, offer a carbide cutter knife
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't praise this bad boy enough!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Stormsaw
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMaryland
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took delivery of my 16.5 Pro 2 months ago, and added the optional chute 4 weeks later. The system has been used for 8 hours straight every Saturday since first taking delivery. We have 2 acres of heavily storm-damaged red oak. I was concerned about the review that reported the system would not chip hardwood larger than 2" in diameter, but decided to purchase the chipper anyway. I'm glad I did - 4.5" diameter older dry oak branches have absolutely not been a problem at all. In fact everything we've been chipping is oak, ranging in size from twigs to 10-foot branches 4 to 5 inches in diameter. Yes it slows down for a moment while grinding through the big stuff, but it handles it just fine. I was also curious how long the cutting blade would last while chewing through all the hardwood, and as a precaution I ordered another blade when I bought the larger chute. I'm happy to report that after 8 full days of use, for 8 hours on each of those days, I have noticed no degradation in chipping ability at all. I highly recommend this chipper.
Pros:everything
Cons:can't find one yet!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

16.5 Chipper after 2.5 years of use

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Upnorhdoug
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMinnesota
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had no problems with the chipper. If you do larger trees with odd angle branching buy a good lopper to trim branches prior to feeding. Be sure to wear hearing and face protection. The unit is a good value. It allows clean up at any time of year as opposed to dangerous burning in a wooded area. The unit does fine on softer woods. Do not try to feed a larger hardwood branch (oak, maple of birch) over 3 inches down the shoot --- unless you are prepared to back it out to let the engine recover. I like working in a team with wife. She preps branches and passes, I feed down the chute. You can really make piles go away fast.
Pros:fast clean up
Cons:more torque maybe i should have bought xl
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wasn't this machine tested before being shipped???

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
mcfly
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Belt started burning because it was rubbing on belt shield, had to remove shield.
This should have been caught on test run before shipping.
No way can you cut a 41/2 " branch, that's a joke
Most of the wood on my property is maple and the 16.50 does not handle a dry piece of that wood very well. Maybe pine or greenwood it can handle but maple is a problem. I have their log splitter and it has worked great for the past 5 years but I am disappointed in the chipper.
Pros:easy to start
Cons:cannot handle hard wood like maple, absolutely not a 4 1/2" branch, quality control before shipping
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportMay 30, 2013
We appreciate you posting a review. We like to hear from the owners of our equipment about how they use them and how the machines are performing. We don't recommend running it without the Belt Guard in place. If you haven't called in to Tech Support. please do. Technical Support can be reached at 1-800-687-6575 and is currently open Monday thru Friday, 8:00 am to 6:00 pm, and Saturday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm,Eastern Time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DR 16.50 CHIPPER

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Jared47
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this chipper end of april, have run 6 tanks of gas thru it, with no problems.It works best if there are no Y branches, so have do a little more triming.Have run 4 inch aspen thru it , will slow it down but doesn't stall.The maple and ironwood biggest 2 inch and works great, any thing bigger is sauna wood.This machine will be tested to its limit, just had a forty logged and by the time snow flys the woods will be clean.For the money it seems like a good machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Expectations Fulfilled

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Daver
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this chipper in Spring 2011. I have used it enough that I say this machine performs like no other piece of equipment I have owned.
I was pleasantly surprised at the lower noise level.
If the wood fits in the opening to the blade, it chips it.
Pros:time saver...period
Cons:knife change out could be easier
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Jim33
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateArkansas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a big ice storm we had limbs everywhere. The chipper took it on and didn't give up. Still going strong.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for clearing a yard

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
John12
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chipper never bogged down on any of the limbs that we had to chip up. Compared to the big chain stores, it beats them hands down. It's a easy tool to use for clearing a yard.
Pros:great power
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Dale5
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when they say easy feed it is true chipper all most feeds itself . When I got the chipper it work fine after a couple few months the battery would not stayed charged after a call DR worked with me to fix the problem. it was a engine problem not a problem with the chipper itself. after a year and half I have no problems.
Pros:easy feed, load in wagon or pickup with extention
Cons:a little loud
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper 16.50 FPT Electric Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is no toy, it is well designed, and does what it is suppose too!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BillZ56
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 16.5 chipper pro with electric start does everything I wanted in a chipper. It tows behind my atv easily . It handles anything from twigs to 4" limbs with ease.
the chute almost feeds itself and I have ground up many cubic yards of chip mulch that I use landscaping and in my gardens. Great machine, and well worth the money paid.
Pros:just a great chipper!
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>