Customer reviews for DR Burn Cage

DR Burn Cage

Forget that rusty old burn barrel, and thoroughly incinerate unwanted leaves, branches, financial documents and more with the stainless steel BurnCage™
Overall rating:
4.479 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
42 out of 44(95%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Burn Cage
Review 21 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for burning trash

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
JDinTX
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the ocuntry and am in a high drought area where the wind blows most of the time. This keeps everything inside and I don't have to worry about catching grass or anything else on fire. It is great for household trash and for small branches.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great will last

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
mcewen
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIdaho
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This burn cage, although expensive, works very well and should last a long time. With all the holes the fire burns quickly and completely. The size of the holes keeps any large items of paper or other burning material from flying off to start fires. The only slight draw back is that the material is thin and does warp under heat. The lid will warp as one part heats up faster than another and can allow some larger pieces to escape but after the fire is going good it does flatten out as the heat is over the entire lid. Much better than an old fashioned burn barrel and will not rust out like the old barrels do.
Pros:burns material quickly
Cons:thin material does warp
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy & efficient

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Shay64
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateOhio
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally have something to replace my open-air burn pit to safely dispose of brush, yard trimmings and miscellaneous rubbish. However, the top warped after first use and no longer fits down flat although it does still contain burning materials. It either needs to be slightly larger or deeper to fit down over sides of cage. Because the 'feet' are merely flat metal plates with flanges to attach to cage, the unit cannot be easily moved by sliding or dragging. If supports were formed as four-sided squares or as round ball-type feet, I think it would be easier to move unit away from burn site for ash cleanup or storage of assembled unit. Overall, this is a great product.
Pros:easy assembly, sufficient manageable capacity
Cons:difficult to relocate once assembled, lid warps so doesn't lie flat on cage
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DR Burn Cage

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Bluzman
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIowa
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product several months ago at the point that my last burn barrel was oxidizing into the ground. I was very easy to construct. I have since burned a great deal of trash in the unit and have been very satisfied with the results. Because of the ventilation, the contents burn completely leaving very little ash. Because the unit is a cage without a bottom, it does not fill up with what little ash remains and is therefore very easy to move. I have confidence that the steel construction will hold up over time.
All in all, a good purchase.
Pros:works a treat
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Innovative, practical, and man, does it preform!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
midniteghost73
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I fist saw this burner cage I thought it was a clever but overpriced idea. When DR had their Spring sale I decided to take the gamble and I'm glad I did.
I was impressed with it from the moment I opened the box. Set up is super easy. It is made to be collapsible and stored when not in use if you choose. I put the burning cage through its paces with Spring clean-up and some serious limb burns. It burns everything up very fast at a very hot temperature... even those pesky thick mail order catalogs! There is little smoke, even when I added green tree trimmings to a burn. Its heavy gauge perforated lid stays put and doesn't warp at all with the intense heat. The removable lid handle fits perfectly and is an excellent touch. So far, the DR Burn Cage hasn't disappointed me and its stainless steel construction ensures me it'll be around for a long time, unlike even the heaviest walled steel barrel. Take it from me, it is well worth the price after all.
Pros:burns hot & fast, very little smoke, can be folded flat for easy storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor appearance and the lid sags

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Kawa
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Steel has already rusted and the lid has warped. Overall design is good but device may not last but a few years.
Cons:appearance after use
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJuly 2, 2013
We appreciate you leaving a review, especially a negative one! We like to know how the products we sell are performing out in the field.

We will try to contact you concerning the issue you are having, but feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use it all the time.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMaryland
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to setup. Burns completely in a short amount of time. Great construction. Will last forever. Look forward to using it.
The top is hard to fit back on after a couple of burns. The sides bows out from the heat.
Have recommended to a couple of people.
Pros:construction
Cons:top lad fitting back on
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete burning in minimal time!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Scoots
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was easy to assemble. The fire was totally contained and burned hotter than a normal fire. Complete combustion in record time. I used it for pine cones, pine straw, leaves, grass and small twigs and branches. The only draw back is that the fire gets too hot to add more fuel while it is still burning.
Pros:safe easy to use
Cons:the lid will warp and not fit correct
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good product.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike55
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateOregon
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This burn cage is just like the description in every way. It works well, burning very hot down to a fine ash. It is well made of heavy stainless steel. The ash pile burns down finer even faster if you give it a stir. And the warning given with it is accurate, it generates a lot of heat which could ignite nearby brush or dry grass. I am very satisfied with it.
Pros:works good.
Cons:expensive but worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
61RampsideBill
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Burn Cage is just as I hoped it would be. The first time I used it, I burned 18 years of tax receipts, forms, etc., and when it was done, there was only about three inches of ashes left...a very efficient burn! It's easy to use and easy to clean out. Hopefully it will last for many years.
Pros:efficient clean burning!
Cons:expensive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Product

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That's a nice burning product, man. I let it up, and it burned like a mofo
Pros:burns it up
Cons:heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient way to burn trash

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Jay1
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWyoming
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This burn cage is a very efficient way to burn trash and... do it safely. Almost complete combustion of contents with minimal ash residue left to clean out. The combustion temperatures are very high so even some organic trash can often be burned. Since incorporating the DR Burn Cage my burning barrels have all been relegated to the dump. Excellent product and highly recommended... especially if you live in a rural area and have to haul your trash.
Pros:almost complete combustion
Cons:a little pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product solved a problem for us!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
caji
Age65 or over
GenderFemale
StateOregon
Property Size10 or more acres
The Burn Cage is a great addition to all of our DR equipment. We live in the country and have always had a burn barrel that rusted out and did not burn all of the contents. The Burn Cage solved both of these problems, and can put any ashes on the garden (thanks to the ash tray). Great product, thanks DR!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Keeping flying ambers confined.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Countryliving40
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateOklahoma
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product. Lid warped a little due to high heat . Besides that...kept everything confined. Use it regularly
Pros:confined flying ambers really well., easy lift lid to keep adding items to burn.
Cons:lid warped
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJune 27, 2013
Thanks for posting a review, we appreciate it!

If you ever need any help or additional parts feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech Department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

made of qulity material, and eazy to put together

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Chuckmiester
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMississippi
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The main problem I have come across, is the top has such a tight fit that it can't work, and it distorts badly from having to take most of the heat. Make the top larger and then you don't have to worry about cinders coming out the top and that is a big problem for me, I live in the middle of a National Forrest!!! Paying the price I did you would think someone would have tested this and figured it out I am no brain surgeon but even I saw this is a major defect. Fix that and you will have an excellent product all around.
Pros:made of stainless steal, assembly eazy
Cons:top cover should be a little oversized
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It definitely works as advertised

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Greenwing
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It burns its contents more completely and efficiently leaving less ash than any equipment I have used to dispose or unwanted waste or private paper waste.
There are no flying sparks or embers emitted.
Pros:burns rapidly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good idea, needs tweaks

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Chet
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love how it contains all the burning debris; very safe burning. However, the lips on the lid should be larger, at least one inch, to overlap the sides as the metal lid warps a bit due to heat. Also, while the four feet are stable, I think that a bottom one piece "frame" much like the lid but with inner and outer lips would permit instant set up and take down with no nuts and bolts or tools.
Pros:great fire safety, great for long term use
Cons:impractical disassembly, lid warps and lips too short
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does everything it was advertised to do.it is better than I expected.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Flogger1
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashes to ashes,dust to dust you use this burner that is all you will have left for the rest of us.
Pros:works great
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The burn cage works great!! Burns very quickly and completely

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
roadogg75
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product. Easy to assemble and use within a couple minutes.
Pros:looks nice in the yard
Cons:a little expensive but a great item
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

INACCURATE DESCRIPTION!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photo(s)
User submitted photo
This cage will rust and warp! They say No more old rusty burnbarrel! That is partially correct as now you have a rusty old burn cage that you spent $300 on! Outside of that it does an amazing job of incinerating paper products without leaving half charred pieces of paper all over your yard.
Cons:really exxpensive piece that rusts & warps!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJune 27, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review about your Burn Cage. We are sorry to hear you are not fully satisfied with the purchase of it.

We will try to contact you concerning the issue you are having, but feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>