Customer reviews for DR Burn Cage

DR Burn Cage

Forget that rusty old burn barrel, and thoroughly incinerate unwanted leaves, branches, financial documents and more with the stainless steel BurnCage™
Overall rating:
4.479 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
42 out of 44(95%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Burn Cage
Review 1 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the money.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
JRichard
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well made of quality materials. As far as performance, these things are relative: it's not as good as an incinerator, but much better than the old 55-gallon drum "burn barrel." It does much better with "mixed loads" including some brush, than it does with pure paper loads (cardboard, files, phonebooks, etc.) -- these require some stirring to combust completely. Ash removal is certainly easy enough. All-in-all, a very good product that works as advertised and is sure to last a long time. An extremely good value, in my opinion.
Pros:quality construction., ease of assembly, ease of ash disposal
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing works SO much better than a barrel

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Pyro
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our burn cage workes better than expected however when it arived I had to bend part of it back into shape. Partly due to mishandling on UPS's part and partly due to it not being packaged very well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely efficient

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Blanketx17
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used it now 3 times and every time absolutely nothing but fine ash is left. Very happy with my purchase so far. Hope it lasts for several years.
Pros:burning efficiency
Cons:a bit pricey
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
pjharemski
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delivered as promised. Easy set-up. Expensive, but worth the price if you have to burn yard debris.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
goatie
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the money like all DR products feel safer burning in this container
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Burn cage does the job I was looking for.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
K9Falco
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMassachusetts
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The cage does it's job better than I expected. It keeps the sparks and fire in the cage, so it's been exceptional near the woods. The brush, leaves and grass burn down to pretty much mostly ash. After it cools, easy to take apart for storage or tranporting. I am very please with the results.
Pros:it works
Cons:pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does more than they advertise.

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Rattrancher
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have several hundred feed bags to burn each week. We have had it for over a month. We have not moved it or emptied it. There is hardly anything left after the fire goes out. Its a great concept that works.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
PATCHESMOM
Age65 or over
GenderFemale
StateWashington
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I AM A RECENT WIDOW LIVING ON A 16 ACRE PROPERTY. WE HAVE TO BURN MOST OF OUR TRASH. I ORDERED THIS AND HAD MY NEIGHBORS HELP ME GET IT SET UP. IF YOU HAVE HAD TO BURN MOST OF YOUR TRASH AS WE HAVE, YOU WILL HAVE HAD TO USE THE OLD BURN BARREL AS SHOWN IN THE VIDEO. LET ME TELL YOU THIS IS WORTH EVERY PENNY. I HAD THE OLD ONE REMOVED, AND THE BURN CAGE PUT ON THE CONCRETE BLOCKS WITH THE ASH CATCHER. WHOPPEEE, I CAN DAILY BURN WHAT WE HAVE TO A THIN ASH AND DISPERSE IT. ALL BE IT YOU HAVE TO LET IT BURN FOR AT LEAST 90 MINUTES, THAN LET IT COOL DOWN, THAN YOU CAN TAKE THE ASH AND LET IT HELP THE PROPERTY. (HAD TO LEARN ALL THIS IN A HURRY). MY NEIGHBORS WERE SO IMPRESSED, I GAVE THEM THE INFO TO GET ON THE WEBSITE.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product meets my expectations.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
jjacobs681
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateOregon
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was initially reluctant to purchase this product because of the price. I am glad I overcame that concern. It works quite well and burns the trash and wood products completely and safely.
Pros:easy to assemble
Cons:somewhat costly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has a very efficient burn.

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We look forward to using this for many years (we are expecting it to last about a decade). It really leaves very little ash and burns quickly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product , glad I bought it

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
georgeofthejungle
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although expensive, I would buy another if needed to. (I did get one for my father-n-law.) It burns well leaving almost no residue unlike the old burn barrel I used. It is heavy gauge stainless steel that should last a life time.
Pros:heavy duty construction performs as advertized
Cons:on the expensive side
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Jennintenn
Age45 to 54
GenderFemale
StateTennessee
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The burn cage arrived promptly, was simple to put together, and works exactly as promised. Living in the woods, I always have a ton of brush to burn, but I've never felt that I was able to burn safely. The burn cage burns the brush quickly and safely, with very little smoke. I wish I had bought this a couple of years ago!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is easy to use and very safe

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
dale73
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in a rural area surrounded by trees, I have to be cautious when I burn excess paper and personal information so I don't set the surrounding woods on fire. The burn cage does an excellent job of containing burning debris eliminating the risk of the fire spreading to the woods. I now don't have to wait for a rainy day to get rid of paper trash.
Pros:sakety
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple solution to an old problem

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
sromondo
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateKansas
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great replacement to the inefficient 55 gallon barrel incinerator - The burn cage is deceptively simple and efficient; and very durable. The perforated stainless steel box allows a very hot fire that quickly reduces brush and other combustibles to minimal residue. This is a great product when you are required to burn within an enclosed vessel and actually works better than an open burn. It just needs a kit to connect multiple units together to allow burning bigger loads.
Pros:very durable
Cons:a little small
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Burn cage works great. Easy to set up and takes no room for storage.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
rice
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am impressed with how much I can get burned at my cabin in such a short period. I burn small branches and pine needles. I was a little concerned about the needles, but the burn cage burns hot enough they are no problem. It burns so hot that after 4 hours of burning there is only 2 inches of ash. With the cover I also feel much safer when burning. No ambers to float around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best way to burn yard waste.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
JohnP
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNorth Carolina
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was disappointed in the wait time, but after several back order notices finally received the burn barrel. Although very "pricey" it was worth the wait and the cost. I still think that after the burning is through, someone sneaks in my yard to remove the ashes since so few are left.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
JD54
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The burncage works as advertised, construction is solid and durable. Stainless steel is very heavy, making unit very stable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

much more efficient than a burn barrel

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
tinamb
Age45 to 54
GenderFemale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Debris burns very, very quickly--it is amazing--with no smoldering and very little ash left. So much more convenient than the barrels I have used for years. Even with holes in a barrel, not enough air circulates (not a problem with the cage) and that causes slow low temperature burning, smoldering, odors and a lot of ash remaining after burning. None of this happens with adequate air circulation which the cage design provides. I was very impressed and glad that I spent the money. This unit is a little pricey, but if it lasts (as I hope it will since it is heavy gauge stainless steel), I think the price is worth it.
Pros:very efficient burning
Cons:a little pricey but worth it if it lasts
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does what is advertised

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Mikeyg383
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I should have thought my process through on what I intended to burn. My mistake. The material is definitely quality however I do not pack mine up each weekend. I just leave it out in my burn area. Its definitely tarnished and rusted but it serves its purpose. One thing I didn't consider is the ease of adding additional items vs. the time it takes to burn down the first load. Paper products will still create flying ashes even though you have the lid on. Beware! Its not nearly as bad as if you were to burn these in an open barrel or pit. Take caution on trying to add more material as things burn down.
Pros:burns extremely efficiently, high quality
Cons:little heavy, small capacity
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJuly 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thanks for doing that!

Please do try to "plan the burn" so you open the lid as little as possible.

Please feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575 if you have any questions or concerns. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Burn Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

as decribed

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
willyb563
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as described. Work excellent. Burns very hot and contains the ash very well.
Pros:works good
Cons:warps out of shape at times
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>