Customer reviews for DR DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at DR Power.

DR DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment

Halt the spread of invasive tree species! Introducing an ATV attachment that lets you quickly and easily reclaim range land, create shooting lanes, clear fence lines, and make fire breaks.
Overall rating:
2.75 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(4 reviews) 4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 4 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
1 out of 3(33%)recommend this product.
Customer reviews for DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment
Review 1 for DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

For open range only

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
RodeoBoy
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased for removal of small trees from tall grass in S. Illinois farm. The device clogs with grass, the 'turning' blades don't turn, and I need to stop constantly to clear the device. For me, money wasted. Make sure your ground is level and clear of obstacles. Like in the video.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportSeptember 30, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review about your TreeChopper. We are sorry to hear you are not fully satisfied with the purchase of it.

We will try to contact you concerning the issue you are having, but feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for leaving a review. We will pass your comments to our Product Development department for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not conpatitable with all ATVs

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Elsie50
Age65 or over
GenderFemale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The boxes were packed bad, missing parts and if you have to return the chopper you have to provide the boxes, they will not provide boxes even if you want to pay for them, but they do pay for return UPS. One part is over 72 pounds. After calls, we received the missing parts, but then found out that the product is not compatible with Artic Cat 4 wheelers after much difficulty trying to attached to under carriage. Call Technical Support before you buy for this information, but technical support was good to talk about help.
Cons:save your boxes
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJune 12, 2013
We apologize for the shipping damage, missing parts & mixup on compatibility. We're glad you posted this review and were able to get it straightened out with Tech Support.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

universal bracket not so universal

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
ww2hd
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMontana
Property Size10 or more acres
I have not used this product but I can only believe it will work well. I have never seen a product backed by DR that wasn't top notch. The problem is in the bracket. I tried to put it on a Kawasaki 700 and after several hours gave up. I took it to the local Kawasaki dealer. They read the instructions and watched the video and were excited to try and get feedback on how it works. It took them over 4 hours of actual work time and numerous days because they had to get a custom u-bolt made to get it to fit. This is not my defintion of a unversal bracket. They cut me a break on the labor charges but it still cost over 300.00 to install it. I'm sure the same problem would not always occur depending upon the make and model of ATV but be aware that it may not be an easy DIY installation.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportJuly 3, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We apologize for the issue you had. Hopefully it has been working fine since?

We will try to contact you concerning the issue you are having, but feel free to contact our Tech Support department toll free at 1-800-687-6575. The Tech department is open 6 days a week. Our Call Center is staffed Monday thru Friday 8 AM to 6 PM and Saturdays 8:30 AM to 5 PM, EST.

Thanks again for posting comments to our website. Your comments will be passed along to our Product Development department for review.

+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DR TreeChopper - ATV Tree Cutting Attachment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great time and money saving product.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Jay23
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateKansas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Locust and Yucca plants are a huge problem on my 1000 acres of pasture land. It was an even bigger problem to get rid of them, had to pay someone $50 an hour to saw the trees down. Purchasing the TreeChopper was a fast and inexpensive way to take care of the problem on my own. In two days, I was able to clear 160 acres.
I highly recommend the DR TreeChopper to anyone who has the same problem; it is easy to install and to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+97points
97of 97voted this as helpful.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Posted byjmichael
onSeptember 18, 2013
The one very positive commentor who was having great use of his tree cutter....He did not post what type and size ATV he had it connected to...That would be VERY HELPFUL if we knew that!
I can see that hooked up properly and on relatively flat ground this cutter might work well, but on lumpy and bumpy ground this might not be very quick...pulling small trees and brush with my Tacoma 4X4 truck I have experience with and that set up with a brush grabber and chain works well but takes time and a couple of folks...one in the truck and one to do the hook up.
I would rather pull them out...then they don't come back!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bystump
onJuly 24, 2013
I would like for you to make this work on a skid steer. That would be awesome, because of the maneuverability of a skid steer. Let me know if you make one to fit. thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byJim10227
 
Please wait while more information about Jim10227 is loaded.
Additional information about Jim10227 could not be loaded.
onJuly 9, 2013
I have not bought this product yet but have purchased the tree puller in the past. My question is could you design away for this to attach to a John Deere 65E 2013 model tractor with quick disconnect bucket system.
Have 5 acres of mesquite bushes growing and pretty thick and could see a real use for this tool rather than a grubbing hoe!
Thanks,
jim
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byarmadillo
onMarch 6, 2013
I bought a Tree Chopper after being told that it would probably work in my sandy soil. I was told "If it did not work, I could return it after up to 1 year and get my money back." Well, as soon as I lowered the Tree Chopper and drove toward a tree, sand would get into the turning cutter wheels and jamb them. They would not turn and would not cut the bush, which was only about 1.5" in diameter. My ATV would get stuck and I had great difficulty freeing it and the jammed cutter wheels from the bush.
After several tries, I returned it but had to pay over $140 for shipping to return it, which they forgot to tell me about.
The concept of the Tree Chopper is great if you have hard, flat soil but if you have sandy soil a chainsaw is quicker and easier.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)