Customer reviews for DR DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro

DR DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro

Devours yard debris, garden waste, and branches up to 3" thick, and produces rich, finely shredded mulch. Pnuematic tires for easy maneuvering.
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Review 1 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well-built, heavy duty efficient machine.

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Lance
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateOhio
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DR has engineered and produced a really heavy duty chipper shredder for home use. It is vastly superior to the old Craftsman that I inherited from my father! That machine was underpowered and too small.
This machine devours pine branches, maple tree limbs and leaves of all kinds. It's shredder has the welcome feature of four cutting edges per hammer blade. The chipper blade must be made of stern stuff as it has gone many hours without showing signs of dulling.
Paint quality is exceedingly good, and the steel throughout is of heavy gauge. This machine will last longer than me!
Power is ample for home use. The big Briggs engine maintains a constant tempo as added by the heavy flywheel effect of the chipper/shredder rotor.
The only improvement that I can suggest is some kind of shielding of the engine from the shredder hopper. That is, a cover that would deflect materials from spilling over on the engine would be a welcome addition. One reviewer noted that the air intake for the cooing blower tended to fill the engine fins with dirt and debris. Perhaps some kind of ducting or screening is necessary to keep the engine from plugging and overheating with chipped or shredded debris.
I note that leaves and lighter materials tend to gather on the blower housing, thus, blocking the flow of cooling air. That is not a good thing. I note that modern farm combines have dealt with this issue in self-cleaning screens on coolant air intakes. Perhaps a simplified version is in order for the Briggs engine on the chipper shredders.
Pros:huge power and capacity.
Cons:needs some engine shielding from degetation debris
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a nice job.

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Bill3
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This chipper/shredder makes easy work of the smaller branches and does an excellent job with the brush and other small debris from the cuttings. The larger branches chip well too but you have to take your time to keep the blade from slowing down too much. I really like how this machine performs.
Cons:a little heavy to move without a lawn tractor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chipper/Shredder Heaven

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
AlaskaGardner
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateAlaska
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basically already assembled out of the crate. Engine started on the 1st pull, always a good sign. Had a pile of roughly chipped brush, 6' to 9" long chips, from the neighbor. The machine took that 4 cy pile and transformed it into 1" finely ground chips in 1 hour. Works amazingly well. No more hauling brush to the Anchorage woodlot for this family and the boss has excellent mulch for the garden that will keep those weeds at bay. Being an engineer, I always have a desire to make something better. Recommend larger diameter pneumatic wheels or structurally positioning the unit higher off the ground, since the chips fall out the bottom and need to continually be removed by hand into a separate pile. Need more time, but I think I am ready for a long term relationship with this chipper/shredder.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
docbrucew
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateColorado
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been through 5 or 6 different chipper/shredders over the years. I usually mulch until I run out of gas, it gets dark, or the machine breaks down. In the past, the machine breakdown seemed to be the most common event. So far my new DR machine has not broken down, makes mountains of mulch, and is obviously built better than any machine I've ever had. All the metal is thicker and overall the machine is more durable. The blade has remained sharp at a point where I would have had to replace or sharpen it 2 or 3 times by now. It is a little more expensive than other models I've had in the past, but now I wish I would have taken the leap much sooner. The only criticism I can offer is that it could use a handle on the towing bar to lift it off the ground, as I prefer to not keep it attached to the garden tractor while mulching.
Pros:exellent quality
Cons:needs a lift handle on the towing bar.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Beast makes brush and debris cleanup a breeze.

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
badco27
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with my purchase of my chipper/shredder. It is everything I expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE 14.50 IS A LITTLE WORKHORSE

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Christian
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, I am very satisfied with the performance of the 14.50. I had about a 1/4 acre of Southern California hillside covered with Acacia Redolens. Anybody that's dealt with this species knows its a very, very hard wood. The 14.50 plowed right through it and my son and I ran the chipper non-stop for several hours at a time. The Acacia was so hard that there were times when I honestly thought I was going to burn the machine up but the 14.50 just kept humming along.
My only gripe about the design of this machine is the air cooling flow. There is a cooling impeller that is attached to the flywheel of the Briggs and Stratton engine. The impeller draws unfiltered air through the pull start housing. As you can imagine, chipping creates a lot of fine dust. This dust, is drawn directly through the impeller and channeled over the engine cooling fins. The result after about 15-20 hours of chipping was clogged and gummed up engine cooling fins. In order to clear the fins, I had to dismantle major components of the engine to access all areas of the cooling fins. I had to remove the muffler, fuel tank, carburetor and throttle body, several tin cowlings and the throttle control mechanism and cover. This little exercise took me about 4 hours and the engine is still not as completely clean as I'd like it to be. DR Power could improve this design by adding a simple air box to the Briggs and Stratton engine pull start housing to prevent fine chipping dust from being sucked and blown directly onto the engine when hot. I came up with a temporary quick-fix for this problem by going down to my local Home Depot and getting a sheet of air conditioning unit filtration element foam and duct taping it in place over the motor pull start housing. This solved the problem but I still have an engine that has baked on Acacia dust which I cannot now remove and I am not very happy about that (I am a stickler for maintaining clean machinery and equipment).
Overall, the chipper met and exceeded my expectations despite the cooling system design flaw. I would recommend this chipper to my friends. DR Power makes really high quality equipment. The 14.50 is the "little orange engine that could". I am glad I made the purchase and will definitely consider purchasing other DR Power equipment in the future.
Pros:high quality cutting blade, cutting blade maintains sharpness well, starts first time every time, chips and shreds everything very fine, briggs and stratton engine is strong, high quality construction, excellent paint quality fit and finish
Cons:cooling system design is flawed, drive pulley to chipper pulley alignment
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful engine and heavy gauge steel. Built for heavy duty.

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
67cuda
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateFlorida
Property SizeLess than 1 acre
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine was fairly easy to unpack and assemble with just a few hand tools. Filled with gas and oil and the engine fired right off with the first pull. Instructions said to check belt tention after first hour. This was too long to wait. The drive belt was too loose and damaged after about 25 minutes of heavy duty use chipping large palm fronds and tree limbs. I had to replace the belt with a Gates #45 belt and have not had any other problems since. The Gates belt seemed to be a much better quality belt. This machine is very well constructed of heavy gauge steel and a very powerful engine. Easy to use and chipped/shredded a large pile of yard debris in short order. It makes chippers available at home stores look like toys.
Pros:constructed of heavy guage steel, powerful easy start engine
Cons:belt stretched and was damaged after 25 minutes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Martin65
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does a great job chipping/shredding, starts easy, I am very satisfied overall, would be easier to haul around if tires were bigger [ such as road tires ]. Problem with the discharge end - build up of material under the discharge end is so fast that it is hard to keep with the removal! As far as the instruction manual goes: the pictures are very difficult to look at! It looks like the pictures have been copied many times and are not as clear as they could be.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good if you do not do a lot of chipping

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
dfwm
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The unit ran very well. The only slight issue is that the exhaust elbow fell off but that is not a big deal. There are two main issues. The most frustrating is the bottom discharge. You need to keep clearing the bottom area if you are doing a lot of chipping or you need to pull the unit forward to allow more chips to be discharged. The second issue was that the location of the motor exhaust caused fumes to be pretty close to the operator. The only minor maintenance is that the belt needs to be tightened after a few hours of use. We exchanged the unit for a Rapid Chipper and are picking it up this week. DR was great about allowing us to exchange.
Pros:easy to start and chips very well
Cons:bottom discharge
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bysouthtwin5
onAugust 23, 2013
After reading some of the problems these chipper/shredders are having, I guess I will just go over my old one! JIM
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great but pricey.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
headster1
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great chipper/shredder. I decided to make my first chipper/shredder the best on the market and that's what this one is. The only problem I had was they didn't include the tow bar attachment. But they got it to me pronto. It fires right up and will shred anything you put in it.
Pros:runs great., shreds anything you put in it., built great.
Cons:pricey, no military discount
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just the right size being in the middle of the lowest and the highest for both chipping and shredding

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Buck12
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I chose the middle size 14.5 chipper/shredder and I'm very happy with the preformance as I am clearing up to 5 acres around my home on an annual basis. I use to burn with permits at specific times of the year but this allows me to chip and shred at anytime of the year on my time and all plant and wood material up to 3 inches. Larger wood I use for fire pit or wood stove burning. Just three minor features I found to be an issue but in no way would stop me from buying this model again.
Leaves and such get sucked up against the fly wheel guard and need clearing periodically.
The two towing wheels' diameters are too small for making a good hitch connection to larger lawn trackors or ATV/quods. Wheels could be larger diameter to even or level the towing bar to trackor or ATV.
An hour meter is needed for tracking servicing and maintance. It's an added cost option and should be provided at no additional cost.
Pros:great power, easy starting, 3 inch chipping size is enough, towes easily, shreds all plant and wood material fine, good guarantee, optional free shipping or discounts
Cons:wheels are too small a diameter to level tow bar, leaves and such block the air flow to flywheel, hour meter is an additional cost option
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is everything I expected it to be

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
tim001
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateGeorgia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the time I brought the machine to the house it has not disappointed me. After I went through the recommended checks, all I had to do was fill it with the correct fluids and make the settings and pull the cord and it was up and running. I have already shredded half the pile of limbs and sticks and are planning to continue my quest. The next best benefit of the shredder is the mulch you are able to collect when completed. This alone has helped save money and time. Most of the trees I am shredding are oak and the look and smell is very pleasing. Thank you for doing what you say DR and I will be in the market for other devises as my needs evolve.
Pros:dependable
Cons:heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, quality is good.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
samsam
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like my new chipper. It is well made. I would like it better if it didn't have to be moved every 10 minutes to clear the chips. If I don't, it plugs up and will not operate. I am happy with the machine, though
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instruction manual could be improved

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Dsmithaz
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateArizona
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The instruction manual doesn't do a very good job on the belt tightening and other maintenance items. Otherwise a great machine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A capable machine.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Ken35
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateCalifornia
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have lots of weeds and shrubs. The shredder makes quick work of any thing put in the hopper, making mulch, which is easy to advertise on Craig's list, and quickly taken.
Pros:always starts on first or second pull., reliable.
Cons:tires went flat right away replaced with solid ., material collects under axle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BEST CHIPPER SHREDDER EVER

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Tim111
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateVirginia
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought ours at a local retailer so it was together & ready to go when we got it home, Starts first pull every time chips as fast as we can feed it. Great customer service. I thought our chipper was too expensive but because of the warranty we tried it & we are very happy it works better than we thought. For sure we'll be keeping it and looking into buying other DR products. Responsive customer service. 115% HAPPY CUSTOMER
Pros:powerful engine, easy feed, uniform chips, starts first pull, easy service, american made, chip all day 1.5 tank of fuel, easy towing, sturdy, guaranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine and a good value promotional pricing

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
DarrenTN
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateTennessee
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my machine on site 9 days after ordering. Setup was quick and easy and was up and running within 30 minutes. Very pleased with quality of construction and performance of machine. Looked at most other brand machines available at retail outlets; while they are considerably less expensive, they are not even close with regard to quality of construction or material. If you are looking for something more robust than retail store brands, DR is a great alternative.
Pros:easy set up, quality construction
Cons:needs handle on tow hitch for easy moving
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Haven't used this yet because the handling features had to be modified.

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
GDR84
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIdaho
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found that when I tried to move this chipper shredder that there was no handle on the tongue so I had to fabricate a lift handle and attach it to the tongue. The next thing I found was that the wheels were so small that they would not "roll" through my gravel and dirt. I ordered 2 Martin Wheel and Tires. Tire size 15x6.00-6 and part #606DC-R342I, the bore axle diameter is 5/8 inch, from House of Wheels in Boise, Idaho. These were great people to deal with. All I had to do is remove one of the spacers on each side of the axle because the overall hub length of the new wheel is 3 1/4 inches. I discarded the cheezy wheel retainers and drilled a hole in axle for cotter pins. Now I'm ready to roll or tow it to where I need to use it.
Cons:wheels to small, no lift handle on tongue
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy TrentTech SupportMay 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We like to hear about our products from you the owners. Your information will be passed on for future consideration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built - Powerfull

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
jt13
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateNew York
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine. I have used other chipper/shredders in the past, this is much better
Cons:belt tightning procedure
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Chipper/Shredder 14.50 FPT Manual Start Pro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs circles around my old one (diffrent brand)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Customer avatar
jfmurbs
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used hard and never plugged up.
Starts easily.
Preforms as advertised
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>