Customer reviews for DR DR Power Grader 48" with Remote

DR DR Power Grader 48" with Remote

Our narrower model Power Grader uses 12 carbide-tipped teeth to loosen and redistribute compacted materials on your unpaved roads. Remote control regulates depth. Tow behind yourATV or compact tractor. Far easier to use and more effective than a box scraper.
Overall rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
117 out of 121(97%)recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer reviews for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Review 1 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
mllc413
Age18 to 24
GenderMale
StateMassachusetts
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the 48" power grader to take care of my gravel driveway, which isn't particularly long at about 300 feet. However, it's on a fairly steep hill, so every time it rains, it washes out creating deep ruts that can make my car bottom out. My previous method of maintaining the driveway was to spend hours shoveling the loose gravel into a yard cart and dumping it into the ruts, and that was a back breaking task.
The first time I used the Power Grader, I hadn't worked on the driveway in about a year, so some ruts were easily a foot deep where the water runs through. I had the guys at the factory store assemble it for me, so I can't comment on setup, but using it is very easy with the remote control. I use a 400CC 4x4 Can-Am ATV that does very well with pulling lots of material, I think if it were any lighter, it would struggle.
I Have two small issues with the Grader. the first is I wish that there was a depth meter on the unit so that after I raise it up to turn around, I could put it back to the same setting rather than guess how far down the blade is. The second is, the wiring for the battery and electronics is exposed, I think that on a ground engaging attachment, especially one of this price, that it would be protected more.
And that brings me to my last comment on the Power Grader, while it does a great job, and really does work very well, it is very expensive for something that seems like it should be MUCH cheaper, I paid around $1300 with the 5 year warranty, which I think is a lot. if I had a tractor with a 3 point hitch, I could buy a box blade or a York rake that would do the same job for less than half the cost.
Pros:really does work as advertised, very easy to use, quality product
Cons:expensive, exposed wirring
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

6 years of use review

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
DanD2
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMaine
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After many years of dragging my bucket backwards on my tractor to smooth out my 660 ft driveway I decided to buy one of these back in 2007. After 6 years of use, the mechanical parts of the unit have held up very very well. It stays outside for most of the summer and gets put away in a shed during the winter. Paint has held up very well, some of the non painted surfaces (nuts/bolts/washers etc) have just started to rust this year, the rest still looks new.I bought an extra set of scarifying teeth when I bought the unit but have not needed to use them yet.
Battery was junk within 2 years. I did not buy a new one as I modified the terminal ends of the wires and now use a car battery and place it in the rock tray. I've also had to resplice some of the connections as they eroded within 2 1/2 years. Every once in a while I have to take the remote control unit apart and reposition the battery and battery holder as it moves and comes off of the contacts...no big deal just a pain sometimes.
As far as doing what it is intended to do....it does an AWESOME job, albeit a bit slow. It takes more passes than what I had originally expected but much better than dragging the bucket.
Pros:does as advertised and leaves the driveway smooth, easy to use
Cons:lousy battery, need a better charging system (automatic), cheap wire connections
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product was easy to assemble and works great.

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Juan3800
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateIowa
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was missing four bolts originally in packaging. However, after customer service was contacted, they imediately expedited the missing parts. Great customer service for this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I would buy again!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Jerry7
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateOhio
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first day I used it the grader worked great. The second attempt, the machine would not function. After contacting DR via chat on their website they had me do certain tests to determine the problem! Ultimately it was determined the battery wasn't functioning even after recharging it twice. NOT A PROBLEM! Within 3-4 days I had a new battery from DR! They stood behind their product and I would buy from them again!
Pros:great machine!, does good job!
Cons:would like it to be slightly heavier!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The DR Powergrader is outstanding!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Strecz
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I would of bought this four years ago when I bought this house. I have a 1/4 mile drive way and have been dealing with pot holes the whole time. I've spent about 6 hours on the driveway and it's 110% better. I've had to spend some time picking out the bigger rocks, but once there all out, it's going to be great!
Pros:tough duty
Cons:i kind of wish the wires and battery were enclosed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works as advertised

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Ralph62
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMissouri
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My initial reaction to this piece of equipment was hesitant, as the supplied battery failed after about a 1/2 hr. Refused to take a charge. A call to customer support got a new battery sent out within a week. The grader has worked flawlessly since that time. I have an ATV that I pull it with and found that by disconnecting the grader and turning it manually, instead of trying to back up with it attached to the ATV is much quicker and fairly easy to do. The grader is well balanced so this isn't a difficult task. My road and driveway are narrow, so turning around with the grader attached was a chore. It does a very fine job knocking the crown off of the driveway and leveling the road. I am very pleased overall with the performance of this equipment.
Pros:ease of use, works as advertised
Cons:battery was junk on arrival
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice product

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Bates420
Age35 to 44
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this grader after several attempts in trying to smooth out my driveway with other equipment. I bought a house and the driveway is about 1200 feet long and was in horrible condition. I bet no one ever graded it in 20 years plus, it had gulleys and potholes everywhere. I spent about 6 hours with the grader and my driveway looks almost brand new!!!
Pros:very durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to set up and use.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
DGoose
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateIndiana
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product went together easy. I then worked the driveway with and it looked 100% better with good distribution of the gravel. The ease of use was great with the power actuator working well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TEXAS TOUGH

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Draftmule
Age55 to 64
GenderFemale
StateTexas
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical about the 48" Power Grader being able to handle the job. I only have a 18.5 horse power Cub Cadet to pull it, right now. Our driveway is a mix of granite gravel, 3/4" road base and caliche. Some of the ruts were 10" deep and 20' long. It takes a little while to learn how deep you can set the teeth. But after a few passes to break the material up, the blade moved it into the ruts and cut down the high spots. I was amazed at the size of the rocks that the teeth were able to pull out. The ruts are gone, the driveway is smooth. Now, with easy maintenance, I can keep the driveway smooth and save money because I do not have to buy more material every time a rut develops. I am happy to recommend the grader. Thanks, DR.
Pros:love the remote!
Cons:wish you could cant the blade to add a crown.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built and easy to use.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Aviator65
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateIowa
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pulls easily behind mower to loosen dirt and level uneven ground.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smoothed our 800' Pothole-Gouged Driveway

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Customer avatar
SugarRiverRancher
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWisconsin
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After getting a $3,000 quote to dump gravel and smooth our 800' dirt driveway, we ordered the DR Power Grader and in a day had it looking better than it ever has. It paid for itself on the first day of use.
Our long hard-packed drive got pretty torn up from last winter's plowing, and likely hadn't been graded for years -- certainly not since we bought the place 5 years ago.
We made the first passes a day after a fairly heavy rain and probably did another 20 passes over the following two weekends after an intervening rain helped spot areas needing further attention. We are astounded -- the grassy crown in the drive was eliminated, the holes and ruts evened out, and a smooth edge is now etched on either side. FYI we used a 50-lb concrete block to add weight.
I'm kicking myself I didn't make the investment earlier, and highly commend the DR Power Grader to anyone with a dirt driveway. Fantastic product.
Pros:easy to assemble all bolts are the same size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pc. of equipment.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Billy75
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StatePennsylvania
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 1200' stone driveway and this grader is the best and easiest thing I have used to date to smooth my wash outs. Including a loader/ backhoe with an 8' blade that clamps onto the bucket. I pull it with a utv with ease.
Pros:ease of use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The DR Power Grader performed as promised

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Ruckus41
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateArizona
Property Size3-5 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great piece of equipment, solid construction made of quality materials. The remote fob worked well in adjusting the elevation of the cutting bar and if there is any down side to the operation of the grader it is on me, the operator. Now I just have to get my old 9N Ford tractor up and running to see what the DR Power Grader can really do. I pulled the grader with a 21 hp lawn tractor and I was able to groom my gravel driveway with relative ease but to tackle the dirt road to my house I'll need a heavier tractor but I have no doubt my DR Power Grader will perform as promised.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is amazing

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
aj44
Age25 to 34
GenderMale
StateMichigan
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never imaged my driveway would be so nice. I hit it once with my dr power grader and you could already tell that there was a difference. Its awesome and would recommend it to everyone with a driveway. thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, but not as easy as shown on tv

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
MisterP
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The grader does not work quite as easily as it shows on TV, but that could be because my driveway has been compacted over the last 5 years. After several passes the grader started to really make a difference. I'm sure that by the time I am done, and I keep up on the maintenance I will not have a rough driveway again
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just like in the commercial

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
JB74
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateWyoming
Property Size1-3 acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it brings up covered stone and fills in depressions just likr the ad says it will. saves money on another load of stones.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works good

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
motordoc
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateMinnesota
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
On a hard, dry gravel drive it needed several passes to break it up but after working it for awhile, turned out real nice.
Pros:easy to use
Cons:cant think of any
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
wannafarm
Age45 to 54
GenderMale
StateOhio
Property Size5-10 acres
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When i got the call my grader was ready to be picked up i was so excited to go pick it up i called in late to work. I got it home , put it together and put the battery on the charger. The first time i used it after about 20 passes the unit got stuck in the down position and i could not get it to operate. I called and explained what was going on , your associate sent me a new part which once again, very excited when it got there. Put it on and Nothing. I called again and was sent a second part which gave me the same result, nothing. Third callsent me a new battery which did put it back in operation. It may just be the overall condition of the country roads i live on, but it has not performed as i had hoped. I Really hoped it would work and i admit it does improve the driveway condition it did not repair it to the degree that i can justify its cost. The folks in your customer service department are very nice and accomidating by the way and quick to send the parts. I have just received the power trimmer today and looking forward to using it as well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from DR PowerBy JamieTechJuly 3, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review about your Power Grader. We are sorry to hear you have experienced difficulties with your machine.

If you have more questions or require further technical assistance, please call our Technical Support department TOLL FREE 1(800) 687-6575 and our Representatives will be happy to help you. Technical Support is currently open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 6:00 pm, and Saturday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm Eastern Time.

Thanks again for posting comments to our website. We appreciate receiving feedback from our customers experiences with our company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The DR Power Grader performed very well.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Omaklake
Age55 to 64
GenderMale
StateWashington
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very skeptical about how well the DR Power Grader would perform on my 1/4 mile gravel road. I used it in the spring when the lane was moist. It worked well even in compact gravel and pulled up a few large rocks. It didn't take long to adequately learn how to operate it. After a few passes I was surprised how well it filled in large potholes and left them nonexistent. It didn't work well where it was very muddy, but this I expected. I also used it to level dirt from the fire line that was built by a Cat during last years fire. It has already paid for itself and I consider it a very good tool.
Pros:easy to use, works well
Cons:should use cotter keys instead of hitch clip pins
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DR Power Grader 48" with Remote
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product,

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
oldguyDavidT
Age65 or over
GenderMale
StateIllinois
Property Size10 or more acres
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the second DR product that I have bought. I am so happy with the DR chipper I purchased, that DR had the edge when looking for a grader. The comparisons to other lower cost graders made sense to me, but at first I wondered if the remote controlled powered grader depth control was just an unnecessary gadget. It's not!! You need this. I have graded my driveway and parking area twice now and being able to raise the depth from the tractor seat whenever I take too big of a bite and lower it again is priceless. Cheaper brands have levers and other ways of controlling the depth but the battery powered actuator makes this unit well worth the money. The carbide tipped teeth is another big plus. My only regret is that this product is not made in this country, however the quality is outstanding and it is obviously made to ridged standards.
Pros:carbide tipped teeth, remote controlled power depth control
Cons:not made in this country
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>